Will’s Entry: Change of Heart

3 Jun

When I lost my wedding band snorkeling off of Florida, everyone offered their condolences.  To be honest, Kristin and I were both Enhhh  (It’s too bad that it’s nearly impossible to spell the sound I’m thinking, but I’m sure you can imagine it)  Sure, the loss of value hurt but I really didn’t have much attachment to it.

After we came back we were in no hurry to replace it.  I was browsing Citydeals.com one day when I saw $50 gift certificates for $20.  Hmmm, that’s 60% off which is a pretty good deal.  We went to Sakora Jewelers to check it out.  They had the standard gold, tungsten, and titanium options which didn’t exactly get me too excited.  I don’t want a heavy, shiny ring . . . 

However, they did have a new kind of ring:  CERAMIC CARBIDE  I thought it looked really cool.

C08B009-V.jpgI don’t know if you can tell, but it’s Black!  Not only that but super, super light!  Actually, here’s a description off another site:

• Black ceramic carbide rings are approximately the same weight as titanium. • Black ceramic carbide rings will stay black forever because they are black all the way through; this is not a coating of any kind. • Black ceramic carbide does not conduct electricity. • Due to their extreme hardness, ceramic and tungsten carbide will hold their shape and shine longer than any ring on the market. • In the event of an emergency, a ceramic carbide ring can be removed by a medical professional or a jeweler. You can do this by applying pressure on both sides of the ring using a table mounted vice or vice grip style of pliers. This will cause the ring to break on each side, allowing for the ring to fall off the finger. • Ceramic and tungsten carbide are the most wear-resistant materials available today.  

Well, as you can tell I was pretty excited, but then my jaw dropped at the price: $230.  Pretty much on the high end of wedding bands.  Well Kristin reminded me that after using the gift certificates, it’d end up being less than the average wedding band and since it was something that I actually liked . . .

Well to shorten this long story, we ordered it on Thursday and they said it would arrive in a week and a half – I hated waiting.  Well, it arrived yesterday after what, 5 days?  It fits much better than my old one as long as I don’t chunk up.  Did I mention how light it is?  It’s twice as thick as the old white gold one (which is a bit different), but MAYBE half its weight.

The only thing that is missing is my old inscription:  “Keeping you for always.”  Kristin’s says “Keeping you forever”  Maybe another day.

5 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Change of Heart”

  1. Kristin June 3, 2008 at 9:36 am #

    I got the better end of the inscription, so don’t worry about it. Glad you like it.

  2. hgundred June 3, 2008 at 10:24 am #

    That ring looks nice! Glad you got such a great deal on it. Your Uncle Eric has lost a total of 4 wedding bands, but Ty found one in the back yard…so I guess 3. 😉 IF I ever have to replace it again…we will look at those…very manly. 🙂

  3. kay June 3, 2008 at 10:55 am #

    So glad you found a cool replacemmet!!

    Harvey still has his first band I bought him, but we my have lost the diamonds in the ring. hahhaha (sorry inside joke) I think Zan called his old ring, probably to melt down.

  4. Kristin June 3, 2008 at 11:15 am #

    HAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. trish June 3, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    That is the same type of ring Michael has. We love it because it always looks brand new and it doesn’t scratch. Nice choice!

Leave a Reply

