The squirrel family

5 Jun

I know this is a really random post, but I decided that I really wanted to remember this and what better way of me remembering then to write it down in the blog. I know that it will get lost in the billion of posts that I have already written, but what the heck. Thanks for triggering it Indy!

Back in the day: it was my junior year of high school (8 years ago, can you believe it? I am so old, and yes who ever is out there reading that saying man I am 40 something, Yes you are old too!). So back to the not so interesting story. I use to sit outside on the benches in the courtyard with my friends at lunch. We made some friends with a squirrel family.

Every day I would bring the squirrels some cereal and my friends and I would train the squirrels to eat off our hand. It took pretty much all year long to do it. Some days we would see them, and other days we wouldn’t. We would first throw the cereal to them and then get it closer and closer untilone day they ate off our hands. They were so cute storing the Cheerios in their mouths.

They kind of became our little lunch pets. Everyone would walk past and think it was so cool. We pretty much were the weirdos eating lunch with the squirrels.

There was a few squirrels missing and for a while we just didn’t know where they had gone. We came to find out that HD and some of his friends feed the squirrels anti-histamines and they probably died. They even named the one that took it zappy. I train them to be trusting squirrels and my brother of all people teaches them what happens when they trust…

I guess it happens to all animals. Will takes the cat into the pantry to give it treats and Tracie takes the cat into the pantry and bangs pots and pans.

I guess that is life.

8 Responses to “The squirrel family”

  1. Will June 5, 2008 at 8:39 am #

    Yep, Kristin and I are officially the Good Guys.

  2. kay June 5, 2008 at 9:06 am #

    I thought I told you to stop feeding the squirrels, that one could bite you and give you a fatal disease.

  3. Tracie June 5, 2008 at 10:54 am #

    Will will never let me down on that one. I was like 8 or 9, how was I supposed to know that would scare the living daylights out of Fuzzy.

  4. hgundred June 5, 2008 at 12:55 pm #

    I liked that story! Kay…don’t you remember Art with the bird? I am now happy that Will is taking care of Kik! 🙂

  5. Chrissie June 5, 2008 at 5:05 pm #

    Oh, poor squirrels. I was all happy reading it and then BAM! Out of the blue…carnage. It was brutal. Poor You!

    Can’t hold the cat thing against your sister forever Will….I put Chino in a santa outfit, called him Santa paws and video taped him running around the house trying to get out of it for the 2nd grade show & tell. But, that was a good call Holly!

  6. HD/Britany June 5, 2008 at 11:03 pm #

    Ok I do vaguely remember doing that. But it was those killer diseased squirrels or my sister. What was a loving brother suposed to do? Kristin I have your back no need to thank me. And I am sure the drugs we gave them just put them to sleep peacefully. Just think you can go visit them in squirrel heaven now with out the theat them giving you rabies. I saw the office episode where they confruted this big issue. There are a lot of people that suffer from rabies every year. And I just couldnt see you going through that kind of pain.

  7. Troy June 6, 2008 at 2:52 pm #

    Maybe they just died of old age. I mean squirrels only live to 8.6 years, so you got to know it for like a whole decade!

  8. steve spence June 7, 2008 at 8:10 am #

    “Nuts”

Leave a Reply

