Will’s Entry: GSD

17 Jun

First off, I hope GSD doesn’t stand for anything obscene or foul, but you’ll have to make it to the end of the post to see what it stands for.  Also, I’m so glad that I caught up with work so that I could write this.

Second, it’s a bummer that our computer is down.  I look forward to Kristin’s blogs just as much as the next person.  You would think that not having the blog would lead to added conversation, but it doesn’t.  It apparently only supplements our usual communication.

Finally, everybody has been wondering about our scooter.  On Thursday, Kristin said that it hadn’t arrived on Wednesday like they said it would.  So we went back on Friday like they asked and it stillllll wasn’t ready.  The guy was pretty nice though.  He told us all about how the order was messed up and 1/2 of their employees literally disappeared.  We didn’t ask, but he was very forthcoming.  He also said that my black 17 (model number) wouldn’t be arriving for awhile.  He said that I could wait for it and he’d throw in a free helmet or I could upgrade to a red 07 without paying extra and pick it up tomorrow.  “What’s the difference?”, I said.  The answer:  Sportier look (see Kristin’s Thursday post) & faster acceleration.  Well, I consulted with Kristin and thought that would be a nice trade-off even if it was RED . . . (black would have been so much cooler)  Being the sly me that I am, I asked about the free helmet and he threw that in as well.

On Saturday after the most PERFECT round of disc golf that I’ve ever played, I went back to pick it up.  Surprise, it wasn’t ready, but he said that he’d have it done in 30 minutes.  I knew that that would be an understatement, but I was determined to leave with a scooter.  To pass the time, I listened to the 1 Sales employee give his spiel a few times.  30 minutes turned into well over an hour.  After a while I started feeling bad for potential customers that weren’t being helped and started helping out.  I knew the basics in the differences of each model and the people appreciated my willingness to help.

     “Do you work here?”

     “No, but I’ve been sitting here a really long time.  What are you    wondering?”  and so it went.  For some reason Kristin finds it weird that I would do this.

(Funny Side Story:  Kay called and I told her most of the details of this entry so far.  I told her that I wanted a sticker for the scooter saying “I’d rather be black”  Funny, huh – a Chinese guy cruising with that on his scooter . . .  Anyway, I forgot that there were 3 black guys behind me in line, whoops)

Well I finally got my scooter and they threw in a free trunk and the Sales guy took the time to mount it for me just to be nice.

Well there you have it.  My new scooter except the picture doesn’t have the trunk.  We all took turns riding it on Sunday and Kristin keeps talking about how she wants to ride it more.  Gosh, get your own darn scooter . . .  Riding it to work was scary the 1st time, but I think I’ve gotten used to it.  Unfortunately there’s been a ton of construction going on which has derailed my usual route and added a bit of stress.  People keep wondering if it’s fun.  Sorry, but I didn’t buy this scooter to have fun, just to save gas.  In fact I’d much prefer going to work in my safe car and listening to the radio while I go 10 miles over the speed limit the whole way.  In fact, I don’t imagine that I look happy when I’m scooting either.  I imagine that I’m the world’s first GSD – Grumpy Scooter Driver.

8 Responses to “Will’s Entry: GSD”

  1. hgundred June 17, 2008 at 5:02 pm #

    Will that makes me laugh! I can see you now being grumpy. Can you believe you have put a smile on my face!?!?! THANKS! I needed that blog. Yes, I miss reading what Kristin writes…hurry up computer come quickly! 😛

  2. HD/Britany June 17, 2008 at 11:05 pm #

    Wow will that scooter looks a whole lot more manly. Next time we come down we should try making a ramp for it. Huu that would be fun. I bet a sporty scooter like that could get at least a foot of the ground.

  3. Mickie June 18, 2008 at 8:12 am #

    It does have quite the acceleration I tried it out! Kind of wierd and hard to get used to, but now matt has renewed hope that he can buy a motorcylce because of that blasted scooter. He has talked to me about it a few times all ready!

  4. Chrissie June 18, 2008 at 9:11 am #

    I’ve missed the blogs too! Loved the GSD image. We had no internet for a few days but I’ve been so out of it I just shrugged and went back to bed. It was nice to check in and hear about the scooter saga. Now I want to see you on it!

  5. steph June 18, 2008 at 11:09 am #

    Now you and Art can ride your red scooters together. Won’t that be cute:) Where did you buy yours?

  6. tracie June 18, 2008 at 11:26 am #

    Have you eaten any bugs yet?

  7. trish June 18, 2008 at 1:08 pm #

    Michael is really not a scooter driver at all but that would be nice to save on the massive gas bill. I would buy a motor cycle but he does actually have to drive clients around and I’m not so sure they would appreciate sitting on the back of a bike:)

  8. steve spence June 19, 2008 at 7:28 am #

    You were quite the customer on your upgrade – upgrade – upgrade. However you would have been fantastic if you could have just gotten them to paint it black for you. Now it’s off to Costco for a can of black spray paint?

Leave a Reply

