Library day

2 Jul

I knew that kids were hard, but come on. No one tells you how hard they really are. Maybe I am just not fit to be a mom, I don’t know. I do know that I love my kids and would miss them terribly if they were not here with me. They really are good kids, we just have bad moments in time. Yesterday morning was one of those mornings.

Getting myself and 2 children out the door by 9:45 on a weekday is a difficult challenge. It is amazing that we make it to church on time by 9:00. I give the kids baths, I shower, slap my hair up in a pony tail, put no make up on, get the diaper bag ready with food for Sierra, and we make it out the door by 9:50. Ok fine I will take that little defeat. I am just happy I got out of the house 5 minutes late.

Every Tuesday and Thursday they have lap time at the library. They read books and sing songs. It is a goofy time that you can spend with your kids. I figure I now have a car and that this is something that I can do with Jason that is free and he would love. Sure he loves it. He loves to be a 2 1/5 year old at the library. I really did not know what I was expecting. He was the crazy kid running around the library with no shoes on mind you, pulling out books, and getting other kids into trouble. Not to mention that he would crawl through the shelves. What a magic trick. One second he was on my side of the shelves and the next second he was on the other side. Great!

By the time I finish picking out my books and his, I feel like I have restocked all the shelves with books. We check out the books and as you guess it the library was such a great fun place to run around in, he doesn’t want to leave. So yet another fit. AHHHHH. At this point I am holding Sierra in her car seat, a diaper bag, a huge stack of heavy books, and I am dragging a very unhappy Jason across the parking lot. And to make things even better, I think that we parked the furthest away that we could because we were late.

Raising kids is great fun. I called my mom and now for next week I have a defined plan. I am going to tell him that we are going to the library and he needs to behave. If he does not then we will leave. So when we are there for 10 min and he starts to throw a fit, we are going to leave mid whatever we are doing. Hopefully it will only take 2 or so times for him to get the hint. No one ever tells you that when you punish a child you get punished too. What about my book (sad face). Plus I am going to bring the stroller and a bag to put all our books in. I am praying that things go a lot more smoothly next week.

I love my kids and even though times are tough sometimes, how could I not love them, especially at moments like this.

Sigh… This is how Will and I have found Jason and Sierra in the mornings. Great! Haha

And last but not least… Boy she loves looking at her self!

9 Responses to “Library day”

  1. Suzanne July 2, 2008 at 9:18 am #

    hahahaha. Loved the video of c-ra. It was great. I have a vivid image of you trying to get back to the car from the library too. Good description! 🙂 Glad you made it out alive.

  2. hgundred July 2, 2008 at 9:46 am #

    Sierra is soo cute! IF you ever would like this old chic to join you…just call. If the boys are not in school we will help you with those cute kids of yours! 🙂

  3. kay July 2, 2008 at 9:54 am #

    That’s sounds like a great plan, just make sure you let him know over and over the behavior you expect. And if he chooses not to behave, the consequence is going home immediately. Compliment him over and over when he’s sitting listening too. A small reward at the end might be appropriate too. He’ll get it, he really will. And Sierra will be a bit easier, because she can learn from Jason.

    Sierra is just adorable in that video. She’s probably wondering who that cute girl on the other side is???

  4. Mickie July 2, 2008 at 10:24 am #

    Ahhh Sierra bug is so cute! Sorry about Jason… have a good Jason free day tomorrow eh?

  5. tracie July 2, 2008 at 10:46 am #

    So…what does your kiss sound like? 🙂

  6. grandma Coombs July 2, 2008 at 3:30 pm #

    Hang in there with the Library days. It will be so good for the kids. Sierra is a darling baby.

  7. Jacque July 2, 2008 at 4:16 pm #

    Hey you just described my library day two weks ago. And my youngest is 4 1/2 . Hang in there. Halley goes through spurts of good times and not really good at all times. Sometimes I have gotten cranky with her so much during the day that I am grasping for positive things to say…”Halley, good job keeping your ponytail in all day” lame huh!

  8. Chrissie July 2, 2008 at 11:05 pm #

    It’s hard to say which was my favorite here….the reminder of all our lovely library days before I gave up going with 4 kids (sorry grandma), the adorable photo of Jason in the crib with Sierra, or the great video of a true born Girly Girl!!

    P.S. Strike sentence #3 out of your vocabulary! Perfect mom’s don’t exist and if they did it wouldn’t be because their kids behaved perfectly!

  9. steve spence July 3, 2008 at 8:39 am #

    Kristen, You can always go home for a week. It must be the Medford air but we don’t have those problems here. I’m sure you were an adorable child.

Leave a Reply

