Will’s Entry: Another weekend

28 Jul

OK, it’s not another weekend, but I figured another post was needed since my weekend had nothing to do with the rest of the family’s.

On Friday, the highlight was the dinner I made.  Yes, Will CAN cook.  I even grilled for the first time.  Cooking just tends to stress me out.  I read and re-read the instructions a million times so that I can visualize the whole process before execution.  I made “Flank Steak with Corn and Red Pepper Quesadillas“.  Go ahead and click on it if you want to see my culinary prowess.

Anyway, it was pretty fun and I got in a good cooking zone.  Had my Counting Crows CD playing and didn’t run into any real problems.  Well, our grilling tongs were lost from last week’s reunion – that was an adventure.  It’s not easy flipping steaks and corn with chopsticks . . .  Kristin would have been proud.  I don’t think I could have made it any better than I did and I was proud too. 

(Side story:  Day before the big dinner and I tell Kristin that the big day’s coming.  Her 1st question:  What are you having for sides?  WHAT????  A – My brain doesn’t have any room to consider sides & B – I don’t ever think about sides.  Fortunately Mickie was on top of things and had a fruit salad going already.)

Afterwards, we went down the street and played tennis.  Tennis is always a frustrating part of my life.  I loved my tennis career but realize that I will likely never be as good as I once was.  More than any other sport that I know, tennis relies on practice, feel, and repetition.  This was the 1st time playing in years and it drives me NUTS failing to do the things I used to.  Well, that’s all that I have to say about that.

Saturday was Solitude.  It’s so fun to disc golf there every once in awhile.  I went with Art, Matt, Mickie, and Suzanne.  I think every round of disc golf should start with a 10 minute chair lift ride!  I’m sure Art enjoyed it even though it was his 1st time there.  I think we all wish we could throw there more often.  It’s such an adventure because of the mountain terrain.  For the last hole, the basket is more than 1200 feet away – that’s about the length of FOUR football fields.  It’s a wicked downhill shot and all of us made it down the hill on our drives.  By the end of the flight most of us wouldn’t be able to see the disc anymore.  Luckily there was usually 1 person able to see it, “Can’t you see the red speck in the grass next to the rocks?”, uh yah.  For the record, I did 3 strokes better than last year by scoring a +5.  Matt and Art were right behind me 🙂

Afterwards, spirits were dampened by the Spence’s lost camera and we went to Winger’s for Dinner. 

Sunday was real boring.  Yup yup.  I got invited to the Argyles for supper and that was definitely the highlight for the day.  I like their family and it was fun to see such a close family.

7 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Another weekend”

  1. Kristin July 28, 2008 at 1:27 pm #

    I am glad that the dinner turned out so well. Now you are goilg to have to make dinner for me now 🙂

  2. Chrissie July 28, 2008 at 1:38 pm #

    Smooth one Kristin!

    Nice post Will – and it didn’t even take you a week! congrats on getting into the cooking zone…chopsticks and all!

  3. hgundred July 28, 2008 at 6:05 pm #

    Glad you had a good weekend! I’m sorry I missed your call the other day. It is just practice the next couple of days! 😉

  4. Jenn Hambly July 28, 2008 at 8:25 pm #

    If you’re ever in my neck of the woods, they just put in a disc golf course (is that the proper terminology?) down the road from my house. It’s no Pebble Beach, but it is free… 😉

    ANd good use of the word “prowess”!

  5. trish July 28, 2008 at 10:38 pm #

    Uh chop stix?…maybe a fork would have sufficed. And I understand the tennis thing. I get that way about dance also. It’s so frustrating not being able to do things physically you know so well mentally. I always used to tell Katy, talent is wanting something so badly you are willing to work for it!

  6. Meridth Gimbel July 30, 2008 at 8:39 am #

    I hear ya about the sport thing. I super miss discus. It definitely is a bit frustrating to think about how good I was in HS and how completely uncoordinated I am now. I guess thats part of that growing up thing is leaving some of those other things behind…. I dunno I’m still figuring that “growing up thing” out…

    ps. Your kids are beyond adorable

    ps.2 check out my response to your comment on our blog 🙂

  7. Bobbie July 30, 2008 at 10:40 pm #

    I’m sorry everyone crashed Sunday night. Jeremy woke up about an hour after you called and was sad that he missed ya!

Leave a Reply

