Will’s Entry: Sad but True

5 Aug

My brain has been struggling with the whole idea of missing tennis for awhile now, but I think I’ll write about that another day.  Today I think I’m going to write a sad post, at least for me anyway. 

There are some things that I miss terribly.  These aren’t the things that I could possibly do again like going to Toronto or playing Gauntlet II on Nintendo.  I miss the show Firefly.  If that doesn’t ring a bell, they made the movie Serenity based on it.  The funny thing was that I never watched the show while it was on the air.  During Jason’s baby shower, Matt, Harvey and I went to watch the movie.  It was good but I didn’t know that it was based off a TV show.  Later the Maxwells let us borrow the season of Firefly.  I was hooked and it makes me so sad to realize that there will be no more.  I gained such a connection with the characters and the Firefly world in general.  If any show deserved a longer life, this was the one.  No matter how much I hope that it will be revived, I don’t believe it will ever happen.  This world ended abruptly and prematurely.

It’s pathetic that we can get so wrapped up in a TV world, but I miss my friends.

6 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Sad but True”

  1. Kay August 5, 2008 at 3:53 pm #

    Oh my goodness…I remember wathcing that show while it was on the air. I think harvey Dean kinda liked. Hummm…we’ll have to start a write in campaign.

  2. Melissa Spence August 5, 2008 at 3:53 pm #

    LOL You sound like me saying, “Horatio can’t be killed off, I’d miss him, it would end the show!” (CSI Miami). It is quite pathetic we get wrapped up in TV world. Never heard of Firefly…hhhmmm have to check it out.

  3. Jacque August 5, 2008 at 4:16 pm #

    If I remember right from my t.v. guide the producer of firefly was bugged(like the pun?) that it did not get a chance and that is why the movie was made. It was in honor of their loyal fans.

  4. Kristin August 6, 2008 at 7:53 am #

    Jacque can remeber the strangest of facts when it comes to start. It always amazes me.

  5. steve spence August 6, 2008 at 9:04 am #

    I don’t remember Firefly. It must have been opposite that great reality show “American Gladiator”. LOL

  6. hgundred August 7, 2008 at 8:05 am #

    I do not remember it…sorry Will. I too get sad when certain shows get cancelled…

Leave a Reply

