Will’s Quick Entry: A Classic Moment

13 Aug

I know everyone is still marvelling at my culinary skills from a few weeks ago (I know I still am).  I thought I’d share another cooking story.

Right when I got off my mission, I was blessed to have my sister finally attending the same school as me which hadn’t happened in around 10 years.  Well, I invited her to dinner at my place.  I wish I could remember what I was making, but it called for sliced garlic.  When she arrived, I was cutting the garlic in front of the TV and the conversation went something like this.

T:  What are you doing?

W:  Slicing garlic . . .

T:  Yeah, but what’s the fork for?!?

You see, my previous cutting experience involved a restaurant and likely a steak of some sort.  Yes, it was difficult to maneuver the garlic so I could stab it with the fork for cutting purposes.  The darn thing kept dodging the knife!  It’s a visual that still cracks me up.  Fortunately when Kristin and I got married, we took a Cooking class for BYU.  I learned nothing, got a good grade, but realized that cooking’s not too intimidating.

6 Responses to “Will’s Quick Entry: A Classic Moment”

  1. Chrissie August 13, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    Where there’s a Will….there’s a way!

  2. Kristin August 13, 2008 at 1:26 pm #

    Cutting garlic with a fork and knife. Where do you come up with these things.

  3. tracie August 13, 2008 at 3:43 pm #

    still one of my favorite memories.

  4. tracie August 13, 2008 at 6:28 pm #

    Oh, another thing. I don’t think you were cooking me dinner, I was cooking you dinner in exchange for help with calculus. I had asked you to chop the garlic and well the rest is history.

  5. hgundred August 14, 2008 at 10:17 am #

    Nice…I am not the ‘cook’ in our family. I am the ‘baker’…maybe I would have done the same thing. 😀

  6. mom August 14, 2008 at 4:20 pm #

    Will, I wonder if you could beat your Dad’s eating French Fries with a fork. Like father like son.

Leave a Reply

