The arm

18 Aug

As most of you know by now Jason broke his arm on Saturday night. Life has been pretty tough since. Ok this morning has not been so bad. It really was just Saturday night and Sunday. What a hard thing for a little 2 1/2 year old and for a mom to deal with. He has cried I have cried, it has been rough.

What a day to forget the camera. The story goes… We were at Wills awesome work party. Jason was having a blast on the inflatable slides like at kangaroo zoo. He was getting to wild and was trying to be one of the big boys. He jumped off a billion times and this time he just landed on the wrong part of his elbow. He started to cry and I knew something was wrong. Jason is a tough kid and that should not have hurt him like that.

We tried to stay for a little bit, but he would not have it, so I took the kids home. I dropped off Sierra with Matt and headed to instacare. Thank goodness Matt was at our house to help me out. We were there until 10:30.

I knew he broke it when he went down, but the kicker was when we were at the doctors office and he was playing with the toys one handed. Poor kid. My heart still breaks for him.

It was cool that 2 of the ladies from the ward worked there and helped us. It was nice to see friendly faces.

Here are the x-rays. It was painful for Jason to get them taken, and painful for me to watch and hold his arm down. I still cringe when I think about it. I hate to see my kid in that much pain. The first picture is his arm that is not broken. And the second one is not suppose to bend at the tip like that.

 

So here is what we have been dealing with. “I want to play golf.”

How and I going to do this…

 

I can’t hold on like I used to…

Mom…

 

Get this off,,,

 

I really want this OFF!!!!

 

Well, this was Sunday morning.  He’s actually a ton better now.  I can’t get him to wear the sling any more, but he is cute in it. We have been doing a lot of cuddling. I am off to buy more ibuprofen and duct tape. They said if he keeps taking off the soft cast then I have to duct tape it on. What a bummer. I have re-wrapedit 5 times now. We have to wait until wed to get a hard cast on. the swelling has to go down first. Yikes. Try to get him to sit with ice on his arm… Yeah impossible. We will try…

9 Responses to “The arm”

  1. tracie August 18, 2008 at 9:32 am #

    oh, i’m so sad for jason. at least it was his left arm. i had no idea that it was his humerus. so much for it being funny. 😦

  2. hgundred August 18, 2008 at 9:52 am #

    Poor Jason! He was sooo happy yesterday while we were all there, but when we were leaving I could see him just snuggling with you. It is always hard when your baby is in pain…you just want to take it away. Hope he’s feeling better soon! Thanks for the fun evening yesterday-even with all that happened…

  3. Chrissie August 18, 2008 at 11:26 am #

    Poor Jason indeed! Poor Mommy too! Poor Daddy and probably C-ra as well! And wednesday is a long ways off. That little face just says it all.

    The kids I’ve seen at preschool with hard casts run around, ride the bikes, climb, swing, color, and play just like they don’t even know it’s there – once it’s on, they seem to adjust….I guess nothing slows a kid down for long.

  4. kay August 18, 2008 at 12:20 pm #

    The series of pics was so sad, but really caught what you are going through. I’m glad he’s doing better today!

  5. Joanna and Edward August 18, 2008 at 3:09 pm #

    Our hearts go out to Jason and the whole family. Wish we cold be there to help out. Our prayers are with you until th whole ordeal is over.

  6. steve spence August 18, 2008 at 8:15 pm #

    A mother’s worried face says it all. Made my stomache flip when I read this one. Ouch! Poor guy.

  7. Jenn Hambly August 19, 2008 at 7:45 pm #

    Aaaw! Bummer for the little guy! I hope he feels better soon, and I hope his parents make it through! ; )

  8. Jensa August 19, 2008 at 9:30 pm #

    Awww…poor little dude! As hard as it is for him, I’m sure it’s harder on mom and dad. Hang in there guys!

  9. mieka August 20, 2008 at 7:28 am #

    We hope Jason is feeling better. I started to get teary-eyed reading about how hard it is for him (and Kristin). I think I’d go into hysterics if Dane got hurt!

Leave a Reply

