Will’s Entry: Sticks and Stones go TUNK

20 Aug

So I’ve been waiting all day to write an entry, but have been kept very busy by work.  First off, we appreciate all the sympathy everyone has been expressing about Jason’s arm.  Kristin will likely post some good news about it tomorrow.  Jason has adjusted very well for a 2.5 yr old.  Kristin, good job on captioning the golf incident and I’m sure that I speak for all when I say that my heart cracks a little each time I think of the picture where he start breaking down and says ”Mom . . .”

Yesterday’s trip to the park was very fun, yet very hard and it had nothing to do with Jason.  A little background:  Kristin tries to go to a free cooking or kids’ education class once a week at the local grocery store.  Whenever she does this I take the kids to the park.  It’s a tradition we’ve had for 2 years now.  Well this summer I would just carry Sierra and follow Jason around.  Sometimes we would sit in the grass and just watch.  This time Sierra really wanted to play.  The playground and its wood chips are surrounded by a little wooden wall/step.  At first she went up to it, stood up and reached over and played with the chips.  She was having a grand old time.  When we moved to a different area (The Discovery park is huge), she was getting frustrated because the wall was too tall for her to reach over.  Eventually I just plopped her into wood chips.  She had SOOOO much fun.  I didn’t think she’d want to crawl around with bare knees on the wood chips, but that didn’t slow her down at all.  She did her best to explore as much area as she could.  Needless to say that by the end she was FILTHY with dirt on her face, scrapes on her knees.  She even saved a bark chip in her mouth for Kristin to remove when she got home.  I think Kristin was pretty surprised at how much fun Sierra had.  I wish I’d had Kristin’s camera. 

Another musing:  One of the great decisions I have to make on my scooter is how fast to go.  There’s a road on the way to work where we’re going 50 and eventually everyone wants to get in the right lane to make a turn.  I usually start off in that lane and am quite content not moving around at all.  Now here’s the rub:  Too far behind the person in front and people think that gives them license to cut me off (and people think I’m slow).  Any closer and I get pelted by rocks and pebbles.  They make funny noises.  I fight the battle in my head daily . . .

4 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Sticks and Stones go TUNK”

  1. Kristin August 20, 2008 at 3:45 pm #

    Yeah they got baths right when they got home!! There was even a piece of bark up Sierra’s nose!

  2. Chrissie August 20, 2008 at 6:39 pm #

    I just realized how very glad I am that my kids didn’t stick stuff up their noses!

    Glad Jason is handling the injury better and hope the new cast makes a big difference.

    Let’s see….getting cut off or stoned to death?! Neither one a great choice, but I think I’d have to go with taking it slow and letting people in than dodging rocks!

  3. hgundred August 20, 2008 at 6:58 pm #

    I agree with Chrissie on the taking it slow! 😉 I am so glad the kids had a good time. I sooo want to go to one of the classes. Hopefully soccer will get settled so that I can join her soon. 🙂

  4. trish August 21, 2008 at 1:17 am #

    Sounds like a fabulous park adventure. And I laughed at your scooter dilema…I think about funny stuff like that too:)

Leave a Reply

