Will’s Entry: Subway Change

10 Sep

Awhile back (Jan 30) I wrote an analogy about how the dating scene was like searching through the Clearance Rack.  It seemed to be a success so I started writing a longer version for myself.  I forgot about it, got bored today and started cleaning out files from my computer.  I came across it and finally finished it.  I was going to post it, but I think the original version captured the idea quite well.  Anyway, I thought I’d share another one with everyone.

Kristin and I met while working at Subway of the BYU Food Court.  Neither of us made sandwiches (she could . . .) as she was the baker and I was the cashier.  This is where I came up with the analogy:  Sins are like change.  I think that getting rid of change is like repenting.  First off, change is accumulated quite easily.  Where the analogy comes in is that one should get rid of change/repent quite quickly.  A little bit in the wallet is not horrible, but too much and life gets uncomfortable.  Now here is the kicker:  Getting rid of all your change at once will upset those around you.  No one wants to be behind the person who uses $.93 worth of change, no quarters!!!!  Likewise, procrastinating repentance does no good to those whom one is close to.  It can hamper things for everyone else.  Taking care of it sooner will always be the better choice.

5 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Subway Change”

  1. Chrissie September 10, 2008 at 3:55 pm #

    AWESOME! Great for a visual lesson!

  2. Kristin September 10, 2008 at 3:59 pm #

    Ahh the good old change analogy. It was alwyas annoying when someone paid with that much change.

  3. Linda September 10, 2008 at 5:00 pm #

    OK Will- Ray and I throw all our change in a big jar in our bedroom. We empty our pockets when we come in each night. Then we use it as our mad money when we really want to go and do but don’t feel like we have the cash.
    Trish says her daughter steals all her change… she figures if it’s out, it’s hers. Then when she wants something she asks you pay for it. Whee you ask about all the change she says it’s her savings and she can’t spend it.
    How do those scenarios fit into the analogy?

  4. kay September 10, 2008 at 9:13 pm #

    Change and sinning??? Who are you??? (Say for him Zan)

  5. hgundred September 10, 2008 at 9:19 pm #

    Interesting… I’m sending my boys to you when I am stuck trying to explain a concept they might not grasp. 😉

Leave a Reply

