Will’s Entry: I’m with the pretty one

15 Sep

So Kristin is out, going to Travis’s first temple trip.  I thought I’d share a couple slightly amusing stories:

Yesterday was Keija’s baby blessing.  Kristin, Sierra and I got there quite early but went to the back to see where everyone else was sitting.  Eventually Kristin spotted Chad and Katy so we headed to them.  Holding Sierra, I was a few steps behind Kristin.  Kristin quickly slid into C&K’s row, but when I arrived a lady told me that the entire row was saved for familiy.  I don’t remember if I said it or just thought it but- “Can I sit with my wife?”  Oh, the fun stuff that happens when you don’t look like the rest of the family.  (I was not offended in any way.  I’m certain she meant well and wouldn’t have stopped me if I had been closer to Kristin.)

Which brings to mind another story that never got recorded (I checked).  A year ago, Matt, HD, Travis, and I got in a pretty big car accident during Britney’s baby shower.  When the cop came, we were all standing on the side of the road.  He asked, “Were you all in the car?”  We all nodded or said yes.  He then points and singles me out and says “YOU were in the car too?”  (I’m sorry, I’ll take my own car now to avoid this racial confusion.)

This final story was funnier in person.  Kay, Suzanne, Kristin and I were around our front room while Sierra and Jason were playing with Sierra’s high chair (Sierra in front and Jason in back).  Suddenly you hear Sierra whining/crying and Kristin says “Fingers!  Fingers!  Fingers!”  Jason was pushing the chair and it was beginning to pinch her fingers (very minor, NO lasting damage).  So Kristin rushes over, pushes the chair back, and rescues Sierra . . . when you start to hear Jason doing the same whimpering/crying.  When Kristin pushed the chair back, she squished Jason’s head against the railing!  She starts saying “Face!  Face!  Face!” so Kay rescues Jason while Zanie and are just busting up.  It was funny like a TV show or the opening scene in “Home Alone” where the dinner is ruined.  Kristin was sad because it was “hurting” our kids, but both kids stopped crying after 30 seconds and it’s made me smile thinking about it at least 6 times now.  That’s it for today.

5 Responses to “Will’s Entry: I’m with the pretty one”

  1. kay September 15, 2008 at 9:56 am #

    Those were pretty good fillers, Will!

  2. hgundred September 15, 2008 at 11:22 am #

    Good job Will! I’m glad you picked up the slack for Kristin being off at the temple! Thanks for letting me play with C-ra! 🙂

  3. Chrissie September 15, 2008 at 12:08 pm #

    Yeah, no wonder they decided to keep their foreign exchange student!

    Laugh! Laugh! Laugh!

  4. Kristin September 15, 2008 at 12:16 pm #

    Gee thanks for adding that last story in there. I felt pretty darn bad, especially since I hurt Jason right before he left for OR.

  5. Troy September 15, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    Side!Side!Side!

    – That was funny!

Leave a Reply

