Will’s Entry: Two Things

24 Sep

Hello  So I’ve noticed that whenever I post after Kristin, I get the bulk of the comments and I feel like I’m stealing a lil’ bit.  Sooooo, I wrote this yesterday and made a note to post this when I arrived to work!

First things first, of course Kristin is a great mom.  People at my work are always amazed at her skills in various areas.  I might also add that yesterday was NOT a tough day for her.  It’s funny, but the days where her entry “sounds” depressing, I get home hoping to invigorate her and invariably learn that she’s fine . . .  Much better than I would be anyway.  Which leads me back to the fact that I give kudos to her as a mother.  Lord knows I couldn’t raise Jason and Sierra any better.  I’m much better now, but in the past I’d be taking care of them on Saturday mornings so she could sleep in.  I’d secretly be hoping that something would randomly wake her up just so I wouldn’t fell so on-my-own.  Yes, I’d get stressed taking care of my own kids!  That said, it’s not easy!  Just imagine any wife going to her husband’s job for a few hours and trying to fill that role.  As a guy, sometimes I feel THAT clueless.  It doesn’t occur to me to let Jason help with making chicken noodle soup or coloring or stuff like that.  What do I do?  I build tracks for him to race cars down and then I’m pretty much out of ideas.  Anyways, Kristin, I just wanted you to know that I love the job you do.

(That said, I think wives be mindful of what they say.  If a husband asks, “What’d you do today?” and the answer is “Nothing”, everyone knows it’s probably not true but there is not much room for encouragement or gratitude.  I know from my experience that I just don’t know what to say in return (I’m open to suggestions), say nothing and probably unconsciously make Kristin feel like I’m disappointed or something when I’m actually not.)

As for my second topic, I feel comfortable posting this as 97.2% of our blogging world seems to be female.  Somehow I’ve taken a strong liking to this Taylor Swift character.  I can’t believe that my favorite-person-that-I-don’t-actually-know is a female country singer!  I haven’t done an analysis, but she may have surpassed Kobe.  I listen to interviews with just about anyone on YouTube and the girl is exceptionally talented, ambitious, and down-to-earth.  She has a new CD coming out on Nov 11 which happens to be the day between Sierra’s and birthday and mine.  I wonder how Sierra will feel if I get it for her . . .  I’ll finish off with my new favorite song of hers (which is saying a lot).

 

6 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Two Things”

  1. hgundred September 24, 2008 at 9:33 am #

    Will, As a ‘Stay at Home MOM’ I will say, “Thank you!” There are times when you feel like you are doing nothing anf then when you go back through your day…holy cow you were busy! You are a great hubby and Dad to your family. I love that our family is getting to know you better! WE LOVE YOU GUYS! 🙂
    Yes, I think it’s silly you like Taylor Swift, but she’s a good singer and not bad to look at either! LOL! 😉

  2. trish September 24, 2008 at 11:29 am #

    Will KK LOVES Taylor Swift. I think so far she’s a pretty good role model.

  3. Kelly September 24, 2008 at 11:38 am #

    Will, you are such a good husband.

  4. Chrissie September 24, 2008 at 1:25 pm #

    Hey – that’s where Indy had her senior photos taken! There’s one of her at those arches on our June 29th blog. Very cool song and video. Love your post Will.

  5. troy September 24, 2008 at 5:28 pm #

    time for some analysis Will.

  6. Linda September 24, 2008 at 11:00 pm #

    *Warning* stupid true story… Once when I was younger I decided to document all the “nothing” I did in a day because usually it felt like I had nothing to show for it. I had two kids and one was potty trained so I kept all the diapers I changed in a separate bag, all the dirty rags I used to clean the bathroom too, and I even rung the dirty mop water from cleaning the bathroom and kitchen floors into a separate container. I did this sort of thing all day so I could prove that I actually worked as hard as he did. You know, I did stuff like stacking all the dishes I’d washed (pre-dishwasher) on the counter instead of putting them away, just to prove I worked as hard as he did in a day. (I know dumb) Two things happened: 1st I was disgusted at how dirty my floors had been- that water was black. And 2nd- It was fun to actually show Ray everything I’d done that day. I felt like I’d really accomplished something.

Leave a Reply

