Licence

29 Oct

Sad to say the Cinderella dress that I made is lying in a heap on my bedroom floor. I almost finished it and showed my mom how it just didn’t work and she instantly went to the store and made me the dress that I have worn. The only thing that I had to do was put the zipper in and hem the bottom. I take no credit for it. My mom did a great job. I think for right now until I am a little better of a seamstress I will just make my kids stuff. I was pretty pleased how well I sewed their costumes. My problem is that I follow a pattern and if you want it to look better you have to make stuff up as you go along. I am just not to that point yet.

Yesterday I decided to finally renew my licence. Yeah I know after 9 months of driving on an expired one with out even knowing it… It would have been so easy just to renew it. I could have even renewed it on-line. But I just didn’t look and wamm now it is even harder. If I would have renewed it up to 6 months late I would have just received it. But I had to wait longer and had to take the written test all over again. What a bummer. I read the book all afternoon long and felt very prepared.

As I was sitting there taking the test and I over heard the chick next to me. She had the book and everything. She walked up to the counter and she had failed. In my head I keep thinking why are all these adults using the book so much. I smirked to myself and thought, “They obviously were not prepared. I am going to fly through this test.” As I started off the test I flew through the first 7 or 8 questions and then all of a sudden it got tough. They started to ask my questions like, ” What requirements do you have to fulfil to receive your learners permit?” “How do you receive a duplicate licence?” “What is the leading cause of deaths between 1-24?” “Are you suppose to report mental and physical impairments?” and “Who has to wear a helmet on a motorcycle?” What? I thought this was a drivers licence test. Aren’t they suppose to test you on driving rules? I didn’t read that stuff as carefully as I should have. So now I was the frantic adult flipping through the book. I could not find hardly any of the answers, but felt the pressure listening to Will constantly telling Jason not to enter the testing area. I made an educated guess on most of those type of questions. Thank goodness I passed, and did very well might I add. (96%) I can now legally drive!

The last thing that happened in the day: Will watched the kids and I was able to go to a savvy shopper class. I loved it. I am excited to find some good deals out there again and use my coupons. There are having another class in PG I will email out when, when I know for sure. I am glad that I went!

8 Responses to “Licence”

  1. Mickie October 29, 2008 at 8:14 am #

    Well let me be the first to say Congrats on the test.. I did the same thing last summer. It took me forever, but I passed with flying colors 🙂

  2. kay October 29, 2008 at 8:52 am #

    Goodness, I’m glad they let me just pay the money and renew with out all the sweating and nervousness.

    AND, the blue dress you made looks great on you!

  3. hgundred October 29, 2008 at 9:09 am #

    YEEWHO! You passed. Sad to say…I will probably wait for my CO one to expire before I get a UT. Tests mke me sweat. 😛
    I want to go to the PG one…when is it-email me. 🙂

  4. tracie October 29, 2008 at 10:25 am #

    I remember having to take that test. I think I missed one question and I was searching forever to find the answer. I still think it wasn’t in the book.

  5. Nate October 29, 2008 at 10:33 am #

    You got to use the book. I’m jealous. I retook mine in July. It is Idaho, but hey…we had tractor questions. Congrats, by the way!!

  6. Linda October 29, 2008 at 3:14 pm #

    Tractor questions… you’ve got to be kidding. I’d have failed for sure. I can’t believe so many of us did the same thing. Well I sort of did the same thing- I lost my license, had to replace it and totally forgot to renew it when it was time because, hey, I was just in there?!? Any way I lucked out and remembered the day before my 6 months was up. BTW- the Savvy Shopper class at the PG store is on Tuesday evening November 11th, 7-8pm. you can register at the service desk or by calling 801-796-6601

  7. Chrissie October 29, 2008 at 8:29 pm #

    You should have taken the license photo in the Cinderella dress – that would have been so cool. 🙂

  8. steve spence October 30, 2008 at 7:04 am #

    Congrats Kristen on the license. I agree with taking the picture in your costume.

Leave a Reply

