Will’s Entry: My mind is a weird place

8 Dec

For those that know me, I make up words.  This may be a trait that I inherited from my mom as she says that she used to do the same thing.  I was embarassed once when I used one of my mom’s chinese ones and a Chinese person had no clue what I was talking about.  To this day, I don’t know if it really means what I think it means.  Anyway, words like “Shmiggedy Shmack” and “Jibby” are such a regular part of my vocabulary that I forget that they’re fake.

Anyway I was reminiscing on the origin of one of my favorites:  “Npnff”, pronounced Nup-nuff or Nip-nuff.  My roommate Paul from BYU and I were sitting in church one Sunday when we picked up a pen that had NPNFF imprinted on it.  On that day, we decided that this word should be given meaning.  From that day forward it has been regularly used in place of grunts or growls.  I guess I can’t speak for Paul (as I’m not sure if he’s still a practioner), but if something frustrates or disappoints me, you’ll be sure to hear a “NPNFF”.  I guess we used to use it so that we wouldn’t say anything more “edgy”.  I was sitting here at work and while I vaguely remember one of the F’s standing for Father, the rest has escaped me so I googled it and I now have the answer!  The National Practitioners Network for Fathers and Families  This a proud day!

Due to the disappointment of another $1,000,000 being taken already, I’ve decided to include a great idea, though not a money-maker.  I believe most cell phones/devices have a default setting that the user likes for its “ring”.  When switching from that setting to vibrate for events like movies, class or church, I think that you should be able to “tell” your phone that you would only like it on Vibrate for a designated time (3 hours or whatever)  I remember to switch my phone, but rarely remember to switch back and this is a function all phones should have I believe.

6 Responses to “Will’s Entry: My mind is a weird place”

  1. kay December 8, 2008 at 3:26 pm #

    Totally agree on the phone switching of vibrate thing! I’ve forgotten that mine’s on vibrate for days. And people tend to get angry with you when you never return their call!

  2. Kristin December 8, 2008 at 3:42 pm #

    Yup. I can attest to Will’s making up words. Why he calls Sierra Jibby, is far beyond me. Oh and don’t forget that you have different wistle sounds for each of us… Thats another odd thing.

  3. Linda December 8, 2008 at 10:57 pm #

    Oh the whistle thing is so Sound of Music! But I totally agree with the cell phone thing.

  4. hgundred December 9, 2008 at 12:49 am #

    I am not sure if ou have been around me…I make up words all the time…hmmm. 😉
    I love the cell phone idea! 🙂

  5. tracie December 9, 2008 at 12:55 pm #

    Troy and I whistle at each other when we’re looking for one another at a store. I think it’s better than yelling out the name.

  6. Chrissie December 10, 2008 at 3:42 pm #

    Well next time I forget to switch my cell phone back to ring from vibrate or off, I will definitely say “Oh NPNFF!!!”. That’s a great one.

    I make weird noises all the time. I use the Russian “nyit” but I don’t know why I say it, or how it started, but I do it all the time. Whenever I want to say NO really fast, I go Nyit, Nyit, Nyit and that’s usually followed by more weird noises that are reminiscent of squeaky brakes. A little stopping sound effects I guess. LOL!

Leave a Reply

