Gingerbread weekend

22 Dec

Good morning all! Well this is how our weekend played out…

  • My parents and Seth showed up Saturday afternoon. The snow storm was not very good, so they decided to do the trip half and half. They made it here safely.
  • There was a quick trip to quick silver for a great sale and then we listened to the byu basketball game. Very disappointing ending.

bballgame 

  • We then watched BYU lose the football game. Sad day. Maybe next year will be better.
  • Sunday Mickie sang in church. I was told that she did a great job. Will and I had to teach in our own ward so we missed it. Which is very interesting that we went from the 11/12 down to the 9/10 and next year we are teaching 6/7. I just don’t even know how to wrap my mind around teaching such little kids. We have 2 kids from the primary presidency and one from the bishopric. I hope we don’t mess up to bad 😉
  • Sunday we had soup and scones and grandma Coombs, and then it was off to make gingerbread houses.

gingerbread1 

  • My dad still wants to be included, but not really. He is hanging out with the kids…

gingerbread21 gingerbread3 

Jason did a great job with his first Gingerbread house. I would put the frosting on the candy and he would stick it somewhere.

gingerbread4 gingerbread5 gingerbread6 gingerbread7 

Scarey Zannie!

gingerbread8  gingerbread9 gingerbread10

7 Responses to “Gingerbread weekend”

  1. Linda December 22, 2008 at 9:49 am #

    Great houses gang. I particularly like Jason’s big “I did it” smile. Maybe hen gets that from his aunt Suzanne 🙂

  2. Linda December 22, 2008 at 9:51 am #

    Oops- should have read that before I posted. oh well 😦

  3. hgundred December 22, 2008 at 9:55 am #

    What fun ginger bread houses! Sorry about tonight and dinner…Con’s game got in the way…dagnabit! 😛

  4. Kelly December 22, 2008 at 11:39 am #

    How fun! Your houses are quite immaculate. Yum.

  5. Suzanne December 22, 2008 at 5:19 pm #

    Hummm… what happened to mom in that picture? Yikes!

  6. Chrissie December 23, 2008 at 9:35 am #

    Here’s my take on the gingerbread photos:
    1. Kristin: What?! I said Ready, Set, Go..I can’t help it if nobody heard it and our walls are already up and we’re waaay ahead!
    2. Harvey to C-Ra: :Stick w/me and I’ll save you when the candy starts flying.
    3. Matt: As usual, the Bragg women are just forging ahead without reading the directions. Jason, we men gotta stick together. Seth’s a goner, he’s already on the dark side.
    4. Jason: TAAA-DAA!
    5. Matt: Look at the muscles, forget the house.
    6. Seth: I call mine “Minimalism Meets Nature” Note the materials used all mimic the beauty of nature and there’s no tedious yardwork to maintain so you can spend your spare time rappelling off the rock roof instead of pruning M&M trees and sprinkling sugar on your gumdrop bushes to impress the neighbors.
    7. Kay: And this, my children, is a little something I like to call…PERFECTION!!!
    8. Zannie: I ate too many green mushrooms! Wow! They’ve got a sugar kick like you wouldn’t believe!!!
    9. Suzanne again: Yes, the house is adorable, but did anyone notice my signature “S” squigglies in the landscaping?!
    10. Mickie: I’ll let you in on a little secret…it’s all in the placement of your gingerbread house on your little plot of land. See, most people make the mistake of plopping it right in the middle (Mom) but a talented gingerbread house designer knows that an off center or corner placement allows for a much more interesting presentation, and an additional bonus of a garage, which will increase the value of your property by at least $25k.

  7. Kristin December 23, 2008 at 11:16 am #

    Not really Kristin, but Kay

    Chrissie! I think you nailed it!!! Perfection is what i was going for….

    And glad you knew it was a garage, we all thought Mickie had built a mother-in-law cottage.

Leave a Reply

