Will’s Entry: An Idea & an Observation

2 Jan

To remind people, when I miss something or someone I include it/them in my dreams.  This often leads to dreams about Toronto or my cousins whom were my best friends growing up.

Last night I had a dream about “The Big Bang Theory”!  It’s one of our favorite shows and hasn’t been playing due to the holidays.  Well, in my dream Leonard was lonely without a girlfriend so Wolowitz and Raj thought it would be a good idea to find a lonely Indian girl that was new to America so he could introduce her to an “American” relationship.  Turns out they do too good of a job as she starts to dress trendy and gives herself a new hair color.  This of course becomes a problem when it’s discovered that she is a princess of a rather large town in India and is now considered scandalous.  The paparazzi have a hey-day when they get a picture of her belly button.  Anyway, the episode closes with Wolowitz showing off his ability to stop time right before the credits.  They were talking about super-abilities at the beginning of the show.  Holy smokes, my brain is writing scripts in my sleep!

On Tuesday I went to basketball and I overheard a conversation about the previous week’s basketball.  Someone said, “It was fine, ‘cept some Mexicans showed up”.  I was there the previous week and I admit that I did note that they didn’t look like the usual basketball crew but they were by no means the only new faces due to the holidays.  These fellows didn’t wear a Mexican flag for a shirt or say Hola when they entered.  Apparently there only crime was having skin of a different tint.  It made me a little sad that this was viewed so negatively.  It also re-affirmed my belief that I often have to try harder to be accepted in different places so that I am not just “that Chinese guy”.  Anyway, just a little insight that sometimes the world is seen a little different through my eyes . . .

4 Responses to “Will’s Entry: An Idea & an Observation”

  1. Bobbie January 2, 2009 at 7:17 pm #

    Will you never cease to amaze me…

  2. hgundred January 2, 2009 at 9:04 pm #

    I love your scrpit!
    I try very hard to teach my children that it does not matter the race…only the heart that is inside. Hopefully, each generation will continue to learn and grow. 😉

  3. Chrissie January 2, 2009 at 10:10 pm #

    The first is very funny and you should submit it, but it does kind of remind me of an episode..didn’t they have an Indian girl come overseas, was it his sister? Love that show. Have alot on the DVR and was really excited to see the actors to that show have been appearing on the late, late show with Craig Ferguson this week – we are keeping really, really late hours while on break.

    The second one is so sad but true of ignorant human nature. Thanks for sharing it from your perspective. If only they knew it too.

  4. Jensa January 5, 2009 at 1:19 am #

    Sometimes I think we’ve come so far when it comes to accepting people – but then someone’s ignorant comment nullifies it all.

Leave a Reply

