Will’s Entry: Games = Fun

11 Feb

Well, it will probably take me a long time to complete this post but I figure it’ll be done eventually.  Yes, I have quite the workload right now, but if anybody’s going to get their portion done, it will be me.  I just wish my target would cease moving if you know what I mean.

We played Killer Bunnies and the Journey to Jupiter this weekend.  That got me to thinking.  As many of you know, I loved to play games when I was a kid.  I had no one to play with, but that’s a whole nother story.  I remember playing Scrabble, Monopoly, chess, Trouble when I was little.  I’d move from one player’s side of the board and for the moment, completely forget that I was playing all the other players .  Sometimes I’d get a game (Batman or Star Trek) and I wouldn’t be able to figure out how to REALLY play so I’d just make up something myself.  Anyway, I thought today would be a good day to give a Game review for my life.

Scrabble – I don’t think it was that weird that I’d play all 4 players.  Nowadays Kristin and I play on occassion.  We have a fun rule where if she misspells a word, but thought it was correct, it’s allowed.

Monopoly – I had all sorts of House rules (Tracie probably still thinks they’re official) and the games would last for days.  I think the Battleship may have cheated to win here and there . . .

Chess – Practicing the Xylophone on my drum pad was utterly pointless (think about it), but at least I wasted the time doing something I loved.  I honestly don’t remember anyone teaching me the basics chess but I got good at it somehow.  My Jr High gym teacher would have a portable board waiting for me whenever I got done with my laps or there were any breaks.  I still love playing and am prone to reviewing games online.

Now for the recent games!

Settlers of Catan – I remember the Brizzees talking about this game first but can’t remember who actually taught us how to play.  It was very popular for us for the first couple years of our marriage.  We taught other couples how to play and so we’d have a game with someone on a regular basis.  Gosh I miss those days. 

Sequence – Did the Braggs play this before I married in?  I don’t know, but we’ve been playing ever since.  It’s a pretty fun game.

ImaginIff – Also known as True Colors, this was fun with a group that was familiar with each other.  I remember playing this in groups with other Singles.  Crazy, I just remembered Truth or Dare Jenga . . .  I haven’t thought about that in years . . .

Killer Bunnies – The couple I home-taught was addicted so we thought we’d give it a try.  It was great fun and we’d play with our next-door neighbors!  We probably went a little overboard with the expansions, but it’s all good.

Set – Introduced in Medford by the Bennions, this is actually one of the few games that Kristin and I enjoy playing when it’s just the two of us.  It’s a good stretch for the brain. 

OK, I’m done with this but will say that Killer Bunnies and the Journey to Jupiter is fun, but too slow-paced.  It’s alright if you let your imagination run amok between turns, but that may not be for everybody.  So my favorite game is . . . drumroll please . . .

Oh, it’s gotta be Settlers of Catan.  The game’s different every single time and it actually takes some creativity.  Relatively fast-paced, it’s a winner.  I even like the expansions.  They change the game but in a good way.  I’m hoping that the kids will enjoy playing in like 15 years!  Sigh, I miss this game like I miss my TV show Firefly . . .  oh well back to work!

10 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Games = Fun”

  1. kay February 11, 2009 at 7:53 pm #

    I think the Bergers taught us how to play Sequence. But now we have the new up dated version of Braggquence, much more fun!

  2. Linda February 11, 2009 at 8:28 pm #

    I miss Firefly too 😦

  3. steve February 11, 2009 at 8:52 pm #

    You didn’t mention spoons, hearts, spades pinochle or cribbage.

  4. joanna February 11, 2009 at 9:35 pm #

    We did play some games. Rememeber the strawberry Shortcake game (Pupcake, Lemon Morringue, Huckleberry Pie). I valued that game so much that I have kept it all these years for my students.

  5. tracie February 11, 2009 at 10:41 pm #

    I still don’t know how to play Monopoly the “real” way. I think I tried playing it once with some friends and was made fun of because I didn’t know how to play correctly.

  6. Chrissie February 12, 2009 at 6:07 am #

    Interesting. I am not familiar with many of these games – especially Braggquence, the new & improved Sequence. I may need to hear more about that one!

  7. Kristin February 12, 2009 at 7:38 am #

    Hey what about ticket to ride??

  8. hgundred February 12, 2009 at 8:38 am #

    Imaginiff is our favorite… 🙂

  9. trish February 12, 2009 at 12:53 pm #

    Ok I think all your “game rules” are great. And I swear thhe guy that came up with killer bunnies is the same one who came up with ‘bamboozal” on Friends!

  10. mieka February 13, 2009 at 11:03 pm #

    we’re always up for a good game of settlers…

Leave a Reply

