Will’s Entry: My Grandpa

4 Mar

Yesterday was a bit of a sad day.  My grandpa (dad’s side) passed away.  His health had been declining for awhile so it wasn’t unexpected, but sad nevertheless.  I had hoped that we all would be able to make another trip to Hong Kong soon so that my grandparents would be able to meet Brooke and Sierra but it was not to be.  I guess it never feels like the right time to lose someone you care about.

I remember him being a very nice man – there’s really no other way to put it.  He spoke some English and as I got older I learned to really appreciate what he did know.  He must have been very bright to pick up on it.  Being across the Pacific, I don’t have a lot of memories, but I remember playing frisbee with him in our backyard when he came over for a visit. 

He made a very good impression on Kristin too.  Yes he was a nice guy, but Kristin got to really appreciate it considering I’m sure she was nervous about being able to communicate with him.  When we were there a few years ago she remarked that the buildings were soooo tall!  His answer – “Tall buildings, short people!”  That still makes her smile to this day. 

img_0118

12 Responses to “Will’s Entry: My Grandpa”

  1. Mickie March 4, 2009 at 1:47 pm #

    Wow that picture is a treasure! Look how little Jason is. My condolences to the Wu family. I hope your dad is coping okay with the news.

  2. hgundred March 4, 2009 at 1:49 pm #

    Will, I am sorry to hear your news. I am so glad that Krisitn and Jason were able to meet him! It sounds like he was a sweet man. Love you.

  3. kay March 4, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

    Seriously, that’s a great picture, four generation of Wu’s!! Priceless!

    !Tall buildings, short people!” That’s a good one…:)

  4. Linda March 4, 2009 at 3:42 pm #

    Will- I’m so sorry for your loss. I agree, that picture is priceless. I know Jason won’t remember but I’m sure it meant a lot to your grandfather to have you come and for him to meet Kristin and Jason.

  5. steve March 4, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

    That picture needs to be framed and hung. My prayers go out to your family.

  6. Chrissie March 4, 2009 at 10:21 pm #

    Thank you for sharing those memories with us. It is a special photo. Love and peace.

  7. Jacque March 5, 2009 at 10:08 am #

    It is an odd feeling when your Grandparent passes away as an adult (my grandpa died last Oct.) A big part of you feels 7 again and you are in a weird place..at least I was. You know they won’t live forever but still..he’s the guy that taught you how to fish. Thoughts are with you!

  8. tracie March 5, 2009 at 2:07 pm #

    That was a great post. One of my memories of Ye-ye was talking to him on the TV when we visited Hong Kong when I was 5. See you in a couple of days,

  9. Troy March 6, 2009 at 7:39 am #

    Thanks for the post Will. I was lucky to have met him in person a couple of times since marrying Tracie. He was always very kind to me, and always enjoyed life. Enjoy your trip, and pass along my condolences to the rest of the family.

  10. Melissa Spence March 6, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    Will, my deepest condolences to you and your family on the loss of your grandfather. I just recently lost a grandparent too. Though you did not make many memories with him because of the miles between you, at least you will be able to cherish the ones you did make.

  11. Jensa March 9, 2009 at 12:34 am #

    Sorry for your loss Will – Travel safe to Hong Kong!

  12. mieka March 15, 2009 at 8:42 pm #

    Sorry to hear about your grandfather’s passing. I noticed you weren’t an work and knew something was up. You are all in our thoughts. Travel safely.

Leave a Reply

