Will’s Entry: My voice is my passport . . .

16 Mar

So I’m back after a successful trip to Hong Kong.  My mom and sister think it’s a bit odd that I kept a note of blog-worthy points, but here goes.  This should be the first post of many, though probably not all today.

Last Friday was a bit of a stressful night.  We had planned and made preparations for my trip to Hong Kong only to find out that night that my passport had expired.  In my defense, I never used my passport for the first 2 years that I had it.  My mom made me get it pending my “imminent” departure to a foreign, Chinese speaking mission.  Well, more foreign than what Canada turned out to be.  Anyway, we really didn’t know what to do.

We spent a good while looking at passport-expediting sites on the internet.  Most of them would cost an arm and a leg, not to mention if it could still be overnighted over the weekend.  I was scheduled to depart SLC Saturday morning and LA Sunday night.  (Considering everyone knows that I actually went, this story is really missing its drama . . .)  The situation didn’t look good but we went to bed hoping our travel agent would be able to come up with a good plan.

Kristin did not sleep well that night but I was ok knowing that there was not much that we could do.  Early morning my mom called with exciting news.  She had called Washington DC and had actually gotten a human on the phone!  Was this because she said she was deaf?  I don’t know but I called the fellow and he referred me to someone in LA.  At this point we were thinking that the best-case scenario would be that I could get the passport on Monday and just fly by myself after picking up the passport.  Lo and behold the lady said that we could meet on SUNDAY to get it.  We were very surprised.  The federal building was completely closed but she met us and fired up the machines and we got our passport.  My dad said that my situation would take a miracle and we got it.  Nobody we’ve talked to has ever heard of anything like this happening.  We got it faster than expected and a whole lot cheaper too.  In retrospect, it’s a good thing (?) that we didn’t realize it until so late as this was much more reliable than anything else we could have tried.  So this is the Prologue to my Hong Kong trip.

PS – the title is in reference to a Wu family classic – “Sneakers”

4 Responses to “Will’s Entry: My voice is my passport . . .”

  1. steve March 16, 2009 at 9:50 am #

    Let’s hear it for miracles. Hope you had a pleasant flight over and back.

  2. hgundred March 16, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

    Wow, Will that is an amazing story! I can not believe you got it…very cool! 😉

  3. Kristin March 17, 2009 at 8:10 am #

    I can’t believe it either. Your family are mirical workers.

  4. joanna March 17, 2009 at 5:57 pm #

    Me and my accent. I meant Death related matters, not deaf. Anyhow, everybody who helped us along the way was as courteous as can be. This has to be a devine intervention.

Leave a Reply

