Will’s Entry: Arrival in HK

17 Mar

The plane ride to Hong Kong was long but not too excruciating.  My hamstrings have chronic pain so I can never get too comfortable if I sit for any length of time.  I know Tracie and I were wishing that our families were with us one second and then glad that our little ones weren’t the next.  I think on the whole we were glad that we didn’t have to worry about them during the trip.

We arrived in HK and our “Uncle” Kady took us out to lunch.  He’s not really related, but is my dad’s best friend.  Driving around is crazy there!  You’ve got to constantly weave and merge because the streets are so short.  No way I could drive it and he does it like it’s nothing, chatting the whole time.  For some reason, I was looking at the city through missionary eyes.  What a shock it must be.  Imagine the busiest downtown you can with sky scrapers.  Then imagine that someone photoshops more sky scrapers between those and then again.  That’s what HK is like.  So visually a shock.  You could probably do the photoshop trick with people too . . .  The smells must be completely foreign.  Familiar to us, but weird to others and they are everywhere!  I don’t think HK feels different but I imagine the food must be a culture shock.  We did a lot of hole-in-the-wall places and loved every minute.  Troy and Kristin have come a long ways, but I don’t think they would have been ready for that.  That said, they could survive on HK bakeries every morning.

That was our hotel (the L’Hotel) and it was nice enough.  (Note that the building does not end where the brown section ends)  I think there were 3 watchable TV stations and it made me sad to realize that I’d be without Taylor Swift for a week.  The shower/tub had an interesting feature.  It was shaped in a gentle U.  There was only a half foot of truly flat space at the bottom.  Essentially I think this was created so that you could never get really comfortable taking a shower.  Probably helps to conserve on the water.  That’s all that was really interesting about the hotel except Tracie and I both realized that blanket weight is a heavy factor in our ability to sleep.  The more, the better.

To finish this off, Kady took us to an exclusive club for lunch.  It had food from his home province of China (northern – Ning Bo).  It was really really good!  It got the trip off on a good foot.

5 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Arrival in HK”

  1. hgundred March 17, 2009 at 9:46 am #

    I am not one to venture with food, but Uncle Eric is…he’d probably been ‘game’! 😉 The shaped tub/shower…interesting.

  2. steve March 17, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

    Just the way I remembered it. Love HK. I didn’t see any of the hot spots I used to frequent.

  3. Troy March 17, 2009 at 9:53 pm #

    I was jealous about missing out on the bakeries. Luckily Tracie was thoughtful enough to bring a few things home for me.

  4. Mickie March 18, 2009 at 8:39 am #

    So, no fat people can shower in Hong Kong? Weird… I wonder about a pregnant women like myself would I have fit? Looks like an adventure.

  5. tracie March 18, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

    DId you by some freak-of-a-chance have a pic of our hotel from our last trip to Hong Kong? Weird.

Leave a Reply

