Will’s Entry: How Sweet it is . . .

14 Apr

Does anyone else go looking for Clearanced stuff after holidays?  We do, but we don’t really even try Walmart anymore.  There stuff disappears so quickly.  We’ve discovered that the local Walgreens goes 50% off the day after and we can usually find what Kristin calls good deals.  I just take her word for it since I don’t know if 25 cents for a Cadbury egg is really that great.

Anyway, I got Giant Nerds for myself and it made me think of DinaSour Eggs so I think I’m going to do a post on CANDY!

 

A great childhood memory that I have is going to Chuck E Cheese’s.  I’d play skeeball, win a bunch of tickets, go find a secluded corner and count my treasure like a troll.  These winnings would go towards DinaSour Eggs (from Willy Wonka), which were my favorite candy.  I rediscovered them when I got to BYU but they’ve since gone eggstinct :)!

I’ve always had a thing for sweet or sour candies.  Does anyone else remember Dweebs, the chewy cousin of Nerds?  Those were under-rated and have disappeared too.  As for Nerds, they’re alright but best eaten with a straw.

 

As for this little Mexican treat, I used to get these on the black market in Junior High.  Super sour and I would just stick the whole packet in my mouth and chew it.  Now that I look at the following tidbit that I found on the internet, I can see why they were on the black market, haha:

     “The 39–cent candy — meant to be a seasoning for fruit, ice cream or chips — turns out to have six to seven times the maximum amount of lead a person can safely consume in one day.  Health officials in cities across the U.S. are trying to find and remove it from markets.”

In high school, I progressed to the “hard” stuff.  I’d buy Atomic Warheads from the band or cheerleaders and eat them until my mouth was raw and possibly bleeding.  To this day I just think of the last two candies and my mouth starts watering.  I’d probably better put a disclaimer to my mother that my candy habits have vastly improved.  No animals or Wills have been hurt in recent years.  In fact I don’t eat that much candy nowadays . . . 

Oh dang it, I forgot one – Shocktarts!  Or now they’re known as Shockers.  Anyway, I discovered in High School that they make my head sweat (even to this day).  Weird I know, but after about 10, sweat starts dripping off my head.  My friends would buy them and have me eat them for entertainment value which was just fine with me.  OK, I imagine that I have grossed everyone out sufficiently.  Hope everyone had a fantastic Easter!

4 Responses to “Will’s Entry: How Sweet it is . . .”

  1. Mickie April 14, 2009 at 11:29 am #

    My mouth was watering from the beginning part about Cadbury eggs… I am so happy Kristin found them! I totally missed out on them this year… let’s see next holiday…my Anniversary! I will have to wait until then.

  2. kay April 14, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    Poor Kristin is a slave to after holiday sales like her mom!! But really what else do you have a freezer for, if not to freeze bags and bags of candy for the next holiday?

  3. Chrissie April 14, 2009 at 1:34 pm #

    My kids love the sour stuff too, but I’ve never been a fan. Smarties or Pixie Stix is about as sour I can go! I do remember the dinosaur eggs though and I think I liked those. Who knows, that was in a whole ‘nother era!! So, you can’t buy ’em anymore? Bummer….one of the Pre-K’s is studying dino’s and that would have been a fun treat.

  4. hgundred April 14, 2009 at 2:29 pm #

    We have been trying to find Starburst jelly beans and Jolly Rancher jelly beans and have found none! Maybe I will try there… 😉

Leave a Reply

