Will’s Entry: Too Good, Too Small, Too Far?

17 Apr

So the NBA season is over and one of the stories is about Lebron James and his impending MVP award.  I agree that he deserves it and that is not what I’m writing about.  MVP does not necessarily mean he is the “best” player.  That is generally debated between Lebron and Kobe.  I was trying to sort out my thoughts when I decided a tennis comparison was best.  I hope everyone knows enough about tennis to follow my train of thought.

Back in the day Agassi and Sampras were at the top of the game.  One could debate who was better but it was difficult.  It was obvious Agassi was more skilled and creative.  Sampras had his strengths and he simply overwhelmed his opponents with them.  Do you see where I’m going with this?  Anyway, I’m eager to see if Lebron ever develops the fundamentals that Kobe has and/or if his body allows him to keep his freakish athletic ability.  And no, I really can’t decide who was better in either sport.

We were shopping last night and Jason and Sierra were running up and down the aisles.  Yes, she runs . . .  Anyway, a lady stopped with her kids exclaiming “Look how little she is!”  My first thought was that she should have seen her 5 months ago when she was basically doing the same thing.

A couple days I saw a report (you may have too) about a Cheerleading coach that was fired after posing naked in Playboy.  Like you, my first reaction was that it made sense – the whole role-model argument and all.  It’s been bugging me ever since.  I just wonder what line had been crossed and where.  There are a lot of activities (legal, mind you) that would be considered a bad influence for kids.  What if she had been modeling swimsuits for Sports Illustrated or bras for Target?  Instead of posing naked, what if she’d been looking at it or photographing it. . . What if she were naked in a rated R movie?  What if she got drunk off-hours or instead won a gambling tournament?  I can’t wrap my head about what an employer has the right to restrict, especially after the fact.  One could argue that schools could make the rules clear to their employees but I wonder if every company would want and be entitled to that too.  I’d think all companies wouldn’t want their employees doing some of those activities.  Anyway, I thought vomiting my thoughts would help clear them.

PS – the funniest part to me was that after airing the story and all the grievances by the mothers that it was immoral.  The following story was about a Mother of 4 was posing the same way for Hot Housewives.  That story was upbeat and did not even touch on the fact that she was a bad example for her kids . . .

3 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Too Good, Too Small, Too Far?”

  1. hgundred April 17, 2009 at 1:34 pm #

    I do not think any player is ‘too good’…I thought that when Michael Jordan was playing…good but someone will come along and take that title ‘too soon’! 😉
    C-ra is ‘just right’ not ‘too small’! 😛
    Well, I am not sure how to answer this one…yes, I believe it was inappropriate for me, my family, and my beliefs, BUT to some that isn’t ‘too far’…crazy but oh so true these days…sad.

  2. waywu2001 April 17, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    To throw it out there – what’s worse, following the example of a teacher that smokes or one that takes risque photos? Would you be justified to fire a teacher for one over the other?

  3. Bobbie April 18, 2009 at 5:20 pm #

    Will, you kill me!!

Leave a Reply

