Yard Work

30 Apr

I can’t believe we missed .31 cent scoop night. But we missed it for a few good causes. One we made our pack meeting dinosaur. I didn’t have as much butcher paper as I thought, so the dino is not as big as I would have hoped, but it works. We are going to bury the utensils in sand and have the kids go dig them up. I especially like what we found for hands and teeth 🙂

dino  

We also did a lot of yard work. Will mowed the grass and I dug up plants/ turned the soil. This is the first plant. Yes mom that plant right behind the tree is still there. That was the last plant that I tackled and it had a LOT of roots right at the surface. It is going to take a long time to dig that sucker up.

I am hoping to plant some tomato plants and other random stuff back there. We will see. I don’t have much of a green thumb, but if I am going to be spending a lot of time in the back I might as well turn it into something that I am some what happy with.

yard1  

I also dig up those 2 stupid plants in the corner. They were so ugly. I weeded and turned the soil as well. Let me tell you my back hurts. Now it is ready for me to plant some strawberries. Yeah!! Mickie wanna help? 🙂

yard31 

I just had to take a picture of all the tulips. I do enjoy them all. This is what kind of a gardener the last person was. I know so random right? one bunch here, one bunch there…. One day I will make it how I want it. But I am going to take it a little bit at a time.

yard2

Now today I am on to reseeding the grass. Can’t walk on it for 2 weeks or so… Better do it soon while the kids don’t care so much to go outside. Or we can get away with a lot of walks.

7 Responses to “Yard Work”

  1. Mickie April 30, 2009 at 7:40 am #

    WOW I am impressed! Yard work at the Wu house! Way to go guys! I can try my best to plant strawberries with you kristin but uhhh remember the fetus in my abdomen prevents me from doing basically anything comfortably… haha

  2. waywu2001 April 30, 2009 at 8:27 am #

    Yeah, it’s a once-a-year event!

  3. hgundred April 30, 2009 at 8:28 am #

    The yard is looking good! 🙂
    I love the dinosaur! My kids had such a fun time when we did it in our ward. Good luck reseeding! 🙂 Your Ucle Eric would used the’patch’ stuff…he said it worked better than seeds in CO (proabably because of all the wind). 🙂

  4. trish April 30, 2009 at 8:49 am #

    It looks good. you can come seed my front yard when you’re done. It is looking a bit sad and I’m afraid it is going to be gone when we spray the weeds:)

  5. kay April 30, 2009 at 9:20 am #

    Remember Strawberries like lots of water and sun, plant them in a good place.

    That plant in back of the tree is a beast, I hacked away at that crazy thing and it came back stronger than ever!

    Oh, love the tulips, mine have all died and I’ve already planted the summer stuff!

  6. Chrissie April 30, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

    Oooh, I haven’t seen the dino dig idea before. What did you use for the hands and teeth..what is that thing that’s the feet? It’s cool whatever it is. So my question is, do the kids get to see the utensils at all before the dig or just dig them up and match them to the butcher paper? Very fun!

  7. Chrissie April 30, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

    Nevermind! I was looking at it backwards!!! It makes alot more sense now!!!

Leave a Reply

