Will’s Entry: Running it

22 May

The Lakers lost last night in a close game to the Nuggets.  There was one play near the end when I got side-tracked on a train of thought.  It was a crucial possession and the Lakers were passing it around.  Alas, it lacked purpose.  I imagine that the coaching staff had said something about “running the offense”.  I’ve definitely seen moments in many sports when teams/individuals become pre-occupied with “running the offense” instead of completing the objective.  In basketball it means passing and dribbling the ball, forgetting the object is to get it into the hoop.  In tennis it means keeping the ball in play but forgetting to keep the pressure on an opponent.  In disc golf . . . well, couldn’t come up with an analogy but now I suddenly have DG on the brain.

So I think we all have a tendency to do this in life.  We get in a routine where we do as we’ve always done or as we’ve been told, losing sight of the big picture.  A fairly safe example would be the goodbye kiss I give my wife every morning.  Does it have a purpose or do I do it just because it needs to be done?  That’s just an example as I imagine Kristin truly knows in her heart that the brief moment signifies passion and a connection that endures through the tribulations and trials of our day . . .  haha, anyway, I think all of us could look at the things we usually do and consider whether we are achieving what we wish.

2 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Running it”

  1. hgundred May 22, 2009 at 1:41 pm #

    I never thought of a ‘goodbye’ kiss that way… Hmmm. 😉

  2. kay May 26, 2009 at 8:13 am #

    I remember reading an article in the newspaper once about a lady who said her husband gave her a goodbye kiss every morning, then one day tragically died in a car accident on the way to work. She said she cherishes that last goodbye kiss, now that they don’t come anymore. Kinda sad and tragic, huh?

Leave a Reply

