Will’s Entry: Big Glade 2009

15 Jun

Matt and I had a Disc Golf tournament this weekend and I should probably write about it for journal’s sake.  After the 1st round, I ended up 2 strokes behind Matt.  He was 1st and I was 3rd.  The weather was ok, but rained occassionally.  After our round ended, the weather took a turn for the worst.  At one point it was hailing like crazy.  We weren’t sure if we’d play a 2nd (final) round or not.  After a whole bunch of waiting, they sent us off to play.  There was some confusion about whether we would be playing a full 24 or just 12. 

My second round wasn’t going very well and I wasn’t gaining any ground on Matt.  The guy in 2nd was getting more drunk/high by the hole.  After 11 holes, one of the other guys in our division came to take a “poll” about whether to play 12 or 24.  Matt and I wanted to keep playing but after another hole, the rest of the division said they were good with 12.  This was especially frustrating to me because I was counting on our drunk/high friend to really start unravelling.  I still have a hard time because it was the director’s call to make, not the division’s.  All the other divisions were going to play 24 too.  NOT to mention the fact that the weather was clear and the sun was shining!!!!!  (a few more exclamation points could be necessary)  Plenty frustrating and Matt and I decided to go home rather than wait for our winnings.  It would have taken another 2 or 3 hours for the rest of the groups to finish their rounds and then determine the winners and their payout.  Matt and I just weren’t patient enough for that.   Well, my first tournament victory was this tournament in 2008 and Matt’s will be 2009.  Yay us!

3 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Big Glade 2009”

  1. steve June 15, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    Let’s hear it for keeping it in the family.Yay!

  2. hgundred June 17, 2009 at 9:38 am #

    Great job guys! Too bad the drunk…was drunk…never fun. 😦 And yes… YAY! for the SUN!!!! I miss it… 😉

  3. Chrissie June 17, 2009 at 10:22 am #

    2010 – Big Glade’s Grudge Match!

Leave a Reply

