Will’s Entry: Something old, something new

6 Jul

Before I left work today, I thought I’d reflect on one of the highlights of 4th of July weekend.  Okay, I’m not that old but I did try something new. 

They had a Freedom run and somebody suggested that we should do the Freedom Run.  Now while I love sports, I’m not much of a runner.  As a good buddy Greg used to say, “I only run when I’m chasing someone or when I’m being chased.  Oh and I’ll chase a ball too.”  That’s my feeling too so signin up for a 5K was a fairly big deal.  I practiced running around my neighborhood in preparation but probably could have done more.

On the big day we woke up at 6 in the morning in preparation for the 7AM race.  Yeah, I never really practiced that!  It felt like we had to wait awhile before the start.  I probably went too fast at the start (who doesn’t for their 1st race) but who doesn’t?  Everything was going well.  Probably on account of my fast start I definitely GOT passed more than I passed others.  I didn’t stop running though and THAT was my goal.  At about the 2 mile mark my left knee started hurting.  I kept running albeit at a slower pace.  In the end, my only regret was that I could not kick it into a higher gear at the end.  Any extra pressure on my knee hurt too bad.  I finished in just under 24 minutes so I was VERY satisfied.  I even met Mark Madsen at the end.  I wasn’t sure if it were him, but when I found out, I complimented him on his blog.  In retrospect, I could have probably chatted with him for awhile.  He seemed like a nice guy and there was nobody else around (he was serving gatorade).  Well, that’s it.Freedom Run

3 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Something old, something new”

  1. tracie July 6, 2009 at 6:49 pm #

    Not to shabby on your time. Especially for not being a runner. Way to go.

  2. Mickie July 6, 2009 at 7:02 pm #

    Next year i’ll run the 5k with you.. instead of the whimpy 1 miler.

  3. hgundred July 7, 2009 at 11:34 am #

    I’m proud of you, Will! I run and I am still thinking I can’t do it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

