Will’s Entry: Chase Theory

7 Jul

Well, apparently our internet is (still) having issues again so it’s up to me to fill the void in our blogosphere.

The last entry about the 5K brought back a specific 2002 memory.  I can remember it like it was 7 years ago (sigh).  It was at the tail end of my single days.  That sounds so melancholy – it was right before the exciting, wonderful, happy days of marriage!  Too much, sorry . . .  Anyway it seemed like I talked with girls a lot and whether it be friends at work or friends at Liberty Square a common theme of discussion was “relationships”.  It turns out that girls are plenty interested in guys but get stuck when the guy don’t seem to have interest in them or don’t have the guts to make a move.  I quickly figured out that being straight-forward or asking out a guy was way to manly of a solution.

(Yes, my hidden meaning was that girls would rather be alone and dream than do anything. )

Well, I came up with a plan for those girls (and thought I’d publish this for posterity’s sake).  The plan had to do with running – invite the guy of interest to go jogging with you at night.  It seemed like the perfect plan – tell the guy that you wanted to start running/run more but only had time at night.  Invite aforementioned fellow to come running with you because you weren’t sure if it was safe to do it alone at night.  This was sure to be a hit for many reasons:

  • He’s been asked to be the protector.  What guy doesn’t want that title?  Instant subtle emotional connection!  (yeah I’m sneaky)
  • It’s dark so one doesn’t have to get totally glammed up but will probably look pretty cute in workout clothes anyway.  Just don’t wear the In-N-Out shirt that’s been in the drawers for years, haha! 
  • One can totally start walking and suddenly it’s conversation-time!  What??? . . .  he thought he was going running . . . oh so sneaky.
  • “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy.”  He’s happy being around you and doesn’t even know why.
Well, I think this plan had other benefits but I can’t remember them anymore.  Just don’t let it turn into this
4 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Chase Theory”

  1. Mickie July 7, 2009 at 4:08 pm #

    just hope the guy isnt Matt and says okay we can go running and plans a 6 miler on you… yeah I stopped at three demanded he run home and get the car because I wasnt running any further… and he still married me HAHA

  2. steve July 7, 2009 at 8:04 pm #

    You’re too funny Mickie.

  3. hgundred July 7, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    That was a good one Mick! There is no way I could run with Uncle Eric…his legs and stride are too long for mine and he’s not so ‘twitterpated’ with me any more…he’d let me run alone! 😉

  4. Chrissie July 8, 2009 at 5:12 am #

    Very clever – you are such a helpful guy Will. I’m sure there will be alot of stories told around the family table about how mom met dad because some weird guy came up with a Chase Theory….

Leave a Reply

