Will’s Entry: Oh, I just can’t wait to be king

31 Jul

Don’t get me wrong, I love this country but I was thinking there were a few things I’d like to tweak.  I’m sure there’s more, but this is what I thought of off the top of my head.

  1. Term Limits or limits on how many terms can be served consecutively.  I think there’s a danger when people start to worry more about what is popular and will get them re-elected than what is correct.
  2. The Unanimous requirement for trials.  This essentially makes one person’s vote more important than anothers.  If 11 people feel one way, but another person feels another, the feeling of 11 will turn out to be irrelevent due to a hung jury and subsequent mistrial.
  3. I wish our elections had more than just 2 main parties.  I think society falls into the trap of:  When times are good, the other party couldn’t have done better and when times are bad, the other party would improve things.  Instead of looking into the issues, they fall into this mindset.
3 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Oh, I just can’t wait to be king”

  1. Kristin July 31, 2009 at 1:05 pm #

    I love the title, but there’s problems when there’s a king too! How about we set up judges in the land? Want to be the High Judge?

  2. Kristin July 31, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    Oopps, that was Kay, not Kristin!

    And after I commented, I remembered that some Judges get whacked,so that might not be the best solution either.

  3. Troy August 4, 2009 at 7:01 am #

    While there are arguments for more than two parties, it is generally more productive to have 2, than multiple parties. Becuase each issue only has two sides, for and against, with multiple parties it is harder get enough parties on your side, where as if you are elected into the majority party, you only have to convince your fellow party members. No system is perfect, but ours isn’t too bad.

    I’ll add two more, publicly financed campaigns and longer terms for the House of Representatives. Obama essentially campaigned for 2 years to be president, while it isn’t the same at every level, if your term is only 2 years, you spend at least 25% of it campaining for re-election, which means you spend at least another 25 to 50% coming up with funds for the election. Too much time raising money, not enough time making decisions that affect our country.

Leave a Reply

