Avocado Chip Dip

26 Aug

In my family we eat avocado chip dip (cottage cheese, avocado, and garlic salt). We dip ruffle chip or saltiens in this mixture. As the kids and I were sitting down to eat it, I wondered how it came about. I have never seen anyone else eating it so I asked my Grandpa.

“Grandma Bragg and I collaborated… I love avocados and asked her to make some chip dip with them. In time  passing. Then Harvey Dean (my dad) took over the task of making it, because he was the major consumer… he and Tom (my uncle) perfected it.”

Well of course I have never seen any one else eat it. Who knew avocados and cottage cheese would taste so good! Thank you for the creation!

5 Responses to “Avocado Chip Dip”

  1. hgundred August 26, 2009 at 9:08 am #

    Oh man my mouth just watered…do you goys remember when I was preggos with T how much I would LOVE eating that? AHHHH, I just may have to go buy some avacados today. 😀

  2. Mickie August 26, 2009 at 9:45 am #

    HAHA I actually HEARD someone else that eats it! Her name was Kara she was saying how much she loved avo and C.C. together… wha???? I thought it was a family thing! Matt has learned to like it now, only with Saltines though he cant stand ruffle chips.

  3. tracie August 26, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    Oooh, I want some right now. Is there an actual recipe or do you toss everything together?

  4. kay August 26, 2009 at 10:36 am #

    I was skeptical 28 years ago too! Then I found I quite enjoy the avocado, cottage cheese and garlic salt creation! But then I started making it with fat free cottage cheese and eating it with fat free saltines. I wanted a healthier version. And it still tastes great to me!

  5. Melissa Spence August 27, 2009 at 7:57 am #

    I’ve never heard of a dip like that – sounds yummy! I’ll have to try and make it. I make an avocado dip with avocados, garlic salt, sour cream and some of my homemade salsa. We practically eat it on a weekly basis! 🙂

Leave a Reply

