Will’s Entry: You don’t know me!

26 Aug

Yesterday the church that I usually play ball at was getting its floor refinished so I went to play at a different church.  It was with a bunch of guys that I didn’t know at all.  All strangers to me as well.  Our team never lost in its 6 games. 

It was funny because our team was pretty good but the other team had better 1-on-1 players.  The first game was pretty close (I hate playing Zone D) but I made two 3-pointers to break the game open.  The next 2 games, people would tell the person guarding me “Watch out, he’s a shooter”.  I had to laugh on the inside because that’s rarely said about me.  We kept on playing and I was having a great day playing defense.  Tons of deflections and whenever those good players got past their guy, I was there to make their life pretty difficult.  Needless to say, I amassed a lot more steals and blocks than usual. 

So in the end, the welcoming advice turned into “Watch out for this guy on D”.  Ahhhh, that’s more like it . . . (silly advice though . . . it’s the guy that I’m NOT guarding that needs to be aware of me (that’s why I don’t usually get that many steals too, usually everyone “knows” me))

5 Responses to “Will’s Entry: You don’t know me!”

  1. kay August 26, 2009 at 10:42 am #

    So are you going to start playing with the new guys now? Maybe switch it up every few weeks, so no one gets used to the Wildonator?? LOL!

  2. Mickie August 26, 2009 at 10:54 am #

    Ha, mom you are funny. It’s refreshing I bet to play different guys every once in a while. Matt played ball last night, it’s never that impressive. I mean Matt is among maybe 3 that really play the rest are just extra bodys on the floor. Although last night there were some new guys there…they seemed to know how to play.

  3. hgundred August 26, 2009 at 11:17 am #

    I love it, Kay! Way to go Will…keep ’em guessing’! 🙂

  4. tracie August 26, 2009 at 1:15 pm #

    The Wildonator?! Is that what Kay calls you. 🙂

  5. Kristin August 26, 2009 at 1:26 pm #

    Great picture to go along with the story.

Leave a Reply

