Will’s Entry: Dated

2 Oct

Does anyone else have experiences or memories that date them?  For example, I find it amusing to think that I registered for BYU by phone.  Pretty horrible, you’d have your catalog of classes and construct a schedule.  Very tedious to enter in the class & section numbers, only to find out that the time slot was full.  You’d move on to Plan B Schedule and run into the same thing.  Good gosh, I’m exasperated just thinking about it.

Last week when we went to Los Angeles to visit the family I was thinking how the flying experience has changed.  I’m not necessarily talking about the two kids, two kids, plus luggage & carseats that we’re toting everywhere.  I remember the days when you would wait for arrivals outside the gate and greet people when they de-planed.  I remember waiting there for HOURS when planes were delayed.  I’d go to the nearest gift shop, wish I could buy candy and spend the time reading magazines.  Never bought them but I can’t imagine they would expect a 10 yr old to.  Pickup is so much easier nowadays.  The person arriving even can call when they arrive.

 

 

 

 

For my favorite airport memory, it’s got to be returning from my mission.  My family totally missed it.  I expected them to be the first people I saw but it was my aunts instead.  Turns out that the family thought the flight was going to be delayed so they went to get hamburgers.  Always reminds me of the Virgins & Oil Parable.  Oh well, good memories.

3 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Dated”

  1. Mickie October 2, 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    Those are some classic memories Will. I am trying to think of one that dates me, i’ll work on it and get back to you.

  2. tracie October 2, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    The one that really dates me is realizing that Megan and I have been friends longer than the missionaries we have in our ward have been alive! Talk about old. Good thing you’re 3 years older than me. 🙂

  3. Melissa Spence October 4, 2009 at 12:22 pm #

    I remember registering for college courses by phone – what a pain in the butt! And yes it was always nice to be greeted at the gate when you arrived somewhere by plane – my family just says now, “we’ll pick you up outside the baggage claim!”.

    That pic of LAX you posted brought back memories, for one of my architecture courses I met and interviewed the architect that designed that control tower. And that was back in the day when drafting was done by hand – not the computer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

