Will’s Entry: Friendly

13 Oct

I guess I’m writing this with the hope that Facebook can already accomplish what I am imagining.

Raise your hand if you’re my friend.  Okay, totally irrelevent, but I just wanted to see if you’d at least mentally do it.  As most of us know, it’s really easy to add friends on Facebook.  What I’m concerned with is that there is only one level of friendship.  I’m sure there’s others that feel the same way, but just because you’re my “friend” doesn’t mean that I want to know EVERY detail that is posted.  (Maybe it’s just the anti-social part of me speaking)  That said, I don’t want to HIDE you because then I’ll never hear anything and I wouldn’t want to forget you.

Anyway, I wish there were ways that one could determine a level of friendship.  By this, I mean – If I were in charge of Facebook, I would install screening levels.  Everyone added as a friend would have 0% screenage.  If one got a little tired of seeing this person and their messages, it could be increased so that, let’s say, 20% of activities were omitted and so on.  One could increase or decrease this depending on if one would like to see/hear more from the individual.  I think this would be a fantastic idea.  And don’t worry, if you’re reading this on our blog, we’re probably on good terms and I enjoy every detail.  This is more relevent to past acquaintances/friends from the past, etc.

6 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Friendly”

  1. Paige October 13, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

    I’d never “hide” you, Will. You crack me up! And I agree with you, oh, 96.8%. 😉

  2. waywu2001 October 13, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    Totally impressed that you threw in the “.8” – love it.

  3. Mickie October 13, 2009 at 2:33 pm #

    Amen Will! I have actually just purged them and if I want to know anything I go through Matts facebook he never checks it but adds anyone who wants to be his friend. Haha

  4. kay October 13, 2009 at 9:45 pm #

    Totally agree with you ,Will! Can you propose some thing to the FB people.

    And Mickie was just here, and purged all my people I really don’t care about. But that sounds so harsh, I care about them, but just not as much as others.

    And can I tell you, the people who change their status 50 times a day kill me!! Maybe that’s why I only go on Face Book every few days.

  5. hgundred October 14, 2009 at 7:07 am #

    Yeah, I can’t purge…I dropped some that were using inappropriate topics, but that wasn’t hard… 😉

  6. Jensa October 15, 2009 at 1:04 am #

    You’re a friggin’ genius. And I’d let you be my 100% friend as long as you kept the disc golf updates to a minimum. 🙂

Leave a Reply

