Will’s Entry: Time

27 Oct

As we’re counting down the hours until the NBA season starts (literally, I’ve been thinking 11.5 hours, 8 hours, 2 hours, 1.25 hours all day), I’ve been thinking about one of the Wu’s parenting quirks.

Somewhere a long time ago, I read that it’s a good thing to give your kids advance notice when things are going to change.  I don’t mean big things, more like when dinner’s approaching or leaving the playground – that sort of things.  Anyway, Kristin and I are regularly giving 5, 2, & 1 minute warnings.  I think that has helped us as parents.  It always helps Jason and Sierra has been getting into the spirit of it as well.  I’m not certain she understands what it means, but she always responds to our “TWOOOOOO minutes!” with a very enthusiastic “OKAAAAAYYYY!!!”  I don’t know why I blogged about that but I just felt the need to post.

Another note:  the writers of Castle (TV show) thought a good good Halloween costume for its lead character would be to reprise his costume of the show Firefly.  My allergies kicked in, especially in the eye area . . .

For Firefly fans:  http://www.tvovermind.com/nggallery/post/fireflys-mal-reynold-returns-in-castle-video/page-2

6 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Time”

  1. Linda October 27, 2009 at 5:19 pm #

    We tevo’d last night and haven’t watched it yet. Now I can’t wait. I MISS Firefly!

  2. Chrissie October 27, 2009 at 6:52 pm #

    Doesn’t everyone do that?! I know we always did and it works! Still does as a matter of fact: “2 minutes until dinner!!! 5 minutes until you miss out completely!!”

    Sierra’s “TWOOOOO minutes!” is adorable! Wait until she uses it on you!

  3. Mickie October 27, 2009 at 9:56 pm #

    Haha yes I always smile when you say, 1 minute until bed time and she says Okkkayyy,… Then you scoop her up and say Bed Time Sierra… then comes night night Matt and tickie or however she decided to attempt to say my name… then comes NIGHHT NIGGHT TY TY… She’ll get my name down someday. How did the Lakers play?

  4. hgundred October 28, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    I have never seen Firefly but I L-O-V-E Castle. 🙂

  5. Tracie October 28, 2009 at 2:13 pm #

    You have allergies too??? I guess it must be going around.

  6. Jensa October 30, 2009 at 11:19 pm #

    I use the same warning technique and love it – smart parents you are!!

Leave a Reply

