Will’s Entry: Amazing

9 Nov

First off, it’s amazing when BYU throws the screen and it’s a success.  Even more amazing that we don’t do it when we REALLY need it.  It was a fun game to watch.  Completing 20/22 passes is pretty amazing!

After the game, Matt, Preston, and I went disc golfing at the nearby course.  Pretty lackluster day, but on Hole 4 things changed.  There’s a pond there created by runoff and Preston and Matt both managed to throw their discs into it.  We located Preston’s first and tried a long stick – a really long stick as it was probably a good 15-20 feet out in the water.  Well, it was a pretty cheap disc (mine) and the water was disturbed so it was no longer visible so I had mentally written it off by now but the other two were determined.  We located a rickety piece of scrap metal and tossed it in the pond.  Preston amazingly jumped the 6 feet to get onto it and how he managed to stay on is a miracle.  Matt and I were laughing pretty hard.  Then Preston proceeded to bend down and put his arms into the water.  It was probably almost 3 feet deep.  Again Preston was determined so he started combing the water with his hands.  Stretching and stretching, he eventually was doing a pushup over the water.  Imagine Preston fully extending his 6’4″ frame horizontally, inches over the water.  Mind you, this water was FREEZING!!!!  Well, he found a disc, tossed it onto land and somehow managed to get out of the water.  Did you notice that I said “a” disc.  Yeah it wasn’t his so the adventure wasn’t over. 

At this point he changed tactics to involve the stump on the other side of the pond (this pond is probably 30 feet in diameter).  The stump was within jumping distance and looked flat and sturdy.  That said, if you can jump 7 feet and land on a stump without your momentum carrying you off, you deserve to be on Survivor or something.  Oh, and he’s jumping off the V of a nearby tree to get onto it.  Matt and I are thinking (and saying) “No way is he going to do this, no way!”  Yep, we’re thinking this as he makes his fateful leap.  Well he made it there, but there was something we overlooked.  The stump was not attached to the ground!  It was a stump that was placed out there but did not grow there.  I can imagine Preston’s thoughts:  “Oh, I made it.  Wait, this thing is tipping!  This is not good . . .  must jump back to the tree . . . and I’m wet . . .”  Yep, his lower half and one side are soaked now.

You’d think we’d call this an afternoon.  (I think I did, but was ignored.)  We gave up on Preston’s and since we couldn’t locate Matt’s it was over until Preston said “ummm, is that yours”  Right in the center we could make out the faint coloring of Matt’s blue disc!  Matt decided strategy wasn’t the answer so he just took off his shoes and rolled up his pants.   Eventually Preston waded back in retrieve his too.  I reluctantly waded in too for moral support.  Man it was cold!  I couldn’t stay in, it was actually painfully cold.  I don’t know how they did it.  They never found Preston’s but it made for some fun memories.  Now if only we had had our videographer Mickie!

Jason has some amazing in him too.  He’s got this weird medical thing where if you ask him to do something (like go to the bathroom or upstairs), his body suddenly hurts.  “My leg hurts.  My back hurts.  I’m tired.”  Must be a weird connection with his mental and physical facilities.  I hope it gets cured soon because it’ll be awkward when he’s a grownup.

“Sir, please go ahead and step through the metal detector.”

“Ohhhh, my leg hurts.  I can’t, I can’t.”

 

“Please rise for the national Anthem”

“Noooo, my back hurts.  It’ll make me start crying and I’ll be sad”

But truly, what’s amazing is how entertaining my Brothers-in-law are.

5 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Amazing”

  1. Mickie November 9, 2009 at 11:18 am #

    Boy do you ever have some entertaining Brothers-in-Law… both very funny in their own ways. Now I am SO BUMMED I didn’t go and have it all on video. Sounds like it was HILARIOUS, AFV funny. Preston could have made himself a lot of money by the sounds of it.

    Hopefully Jason doesn’t pass that condition on to my son! Do you think it’s contagious?

  2. kay November 9, 2009 at 11:36 am #

    Preston sounds like he fits in with the brother in laws perfectly. I’m just glad Colton wasn’t there, because I could see some sort of Colton throwing to the metal sheet and stump, with Matt catching on one side, while Preston throws him over. And Colt saying, “yeah, this will work.”

    Jason’s condition sounds pretty serious, maybe he should stay in bed until it gets better!

  3. Tracie November 9, 2009 at 1:14 pm #

    Man, I wish Mickie was there too. Although I think I did a pretty good job imagining it all. Can’t wait to see you guys in a few days.

  4. Suzanne November 9, 2009 at 5:09 pm #

    Oh man oh man… Preston tells me all the time that if he can picture himself physically doing something there is no doubt that he will succeed. Trust me, it scares me… hahaha

    I’m sure when Colt gets home it will only get worse!

  5. Troy November 16, 2009 at 1:28 pm #

    20/22 was amazing, especially considering that one was a drop by Pitta (right in his hands) and one he threw away to avoid the sack!

    Sounds like the disc golf pond adventure was more tense than the BYU game. My favorite part was you wading in for moral support.

Leave a Reply

