Will’s Entry: Pink wins!

16 Nov

I was sitting in church yesterday watching Jason play with markers.  Mind you, he doesn’t like drawing with them near as much as adjoining them to each other and creating long sticks.  And if I join in the fun and we have stick “breaking” wars things can quickly get out of hand.  That got me thinking, does anyone remember these:

I remember being in 3rd grade and at the end of class everyday I would take a quick look under the desks and if any pens had been dropped, they were mine!  I had a pencil box full and I just kept collecting and collecting.  The 4-color pen was always a treasure!  In retrospect, I now feel pretty bad and since I can’t return them, this blog entry will have to be the final step in my repentance process. 

That also got me to thinking of one of my elementary school nerdy behaviors (yes, one of many).  I had one with the blue, green, pink, and black options.  I had a sheet in my notebook devoted to tracking how many times I used each color.  Oh, it gets better (worse).  I remember spinning it between every math problem, randomly selecting a color, and jotting it down.  Makes my current soap-rotation obsession more understandable, eh?  Well, it was always frustrating because Pink seemed to win most often.  I still think it was because of the weight of the pocket clasp . . .  I hope they’ve corrected that 20 years later . . .

7 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Pink wins!”

  1. Tracie November 16, 2009 at 4:06 pm #

    You are such a nerd. Don’t worry, Troy’s right there with you. 🙂

  2. Mickie November 16, 2009 at 4:08 pm #

    WOW just when I thought you couldnt get nerdier you never cease to amaze… I was saying “Ohhhh Myyyy Gosshhh” outloud before I even finished your post. One day your children will read these blogs and say SEE MOM I’m not THAT weird… Look what DAD used to do.

  3. kay November 16, 2009 at 5:50 pm #

    LOL! You kinda remind of Jeff Foxworthy, “Heeeeyy, if this couch is here after dark, it’s in my livin’ room.”

    Yep, that puts the nail in the weird coffin, for sure!

  4. Jensa November 17, 2009 at 1:03 am #

    Wow. Just, wow. 🙂

  5. waywu2001 November 17, 2009 at 8:44 am #

    I’m just glad you weren’t mad that I may have pilfered your pens . . .

  6. hgundred November 17, 2009 at 1:03 pm #

    I always loved those pens..mine color was green. 😉

  7. Troy November 18, 2009 at 8:58 am #

    Do you still have the stats? I bet we can figure out if the ‘random’ spinning was being confounded by the lurking pocket clasp variable.

Leave a Reply

