Will’s Entry: A Rare Moment

24 Nov

It’s never dull when Harvey & Kay come a’visiting.  With 2 big BYU home games and Thanksgiving, we get to have them for a week+.  Noooooo, I didn’t accidentally write “get”, it’s actually fun to have them around.  The kids adore all of their grandparents and I always enjoy a change of pace (except for this “getting cold” change, Yuck!!!)

When I first married Kristin, she was very much a “Wait until Thanksgiving”-girl in terms of Christmas music.  Before that day, she’d always be adament about needing to wait, which was funny because I think she just liked to hear herself say it.  Anyway, this year we’ve been listening to Christmas music since Nov 1 and she made no mistake about it.  What’s the difference?  Well, Jason is now old enough to listen to CD’s and he LOVES controlling the stereo.  Needless to say, we had our fair share of Halloween and Kristin was dying for anything else.  As for the car, I think Kristin just gets a kick out of listening to the two kids sing along . . .

Christmas music always leads to hearing “O Holy Night”, my favorite song of the season.  That song reminds me of 2 things:  the missionaries NAILING it on my mission and playing the duet with my sister on the piano.  I have very few fond memories regarding my piano experience, but that was one.  It was a pretty arrangement and it was actually kind of fun practicing with someone.  I remember proposing (during practice) that one of us mess up so the other person could practice getting back on track.  I just wanted it in writing that I had one good memory – that and my teacher, Sis. Nielson – she was awesome!

Huh, no google images of a kid crying during piano practice; Must’ve just been me . . .

 

2 Responses to “Will’s Entry: A Rare Moment”

  1. hgundred November 24, 2009 at 7:17 pm #

    That is a wonderful song. I would love to hear you play it sometime. That is a stead fast rule in our home…Uncle Eric makes the rule…NOTHING XMAS until AFTER Thanksgiving. BAHHUMBUG! 😛

  2. Tracie November 25, 2009 at 5:47 pm #

    I have the music whenever you want to try and play it again. I also don’t think you were the only one that cried when practicing the piano.

Leave a Reply

