Will’s Entry: Potsicle Stickers?

3 Dec

I have a cool wife, did I ever let that be known?  Here’s one of the reason’s why:

Every family(individual) has its comfort foods.  This may range from spaghetti, fetuccini alfredo, biscuits and gravy to steamed eggs with pork.  Well, apparently one of ours is now Potstickers.  We used to hand-make them but my mom showed us a good brand that we can find in an authentic Asian market.  Let’s just say that Kristin has been in heaven ever since.  We’ve had them once a week for awhile (provided her family isn’t in town).  She always apologizes because they’re pretty easy to cook, but I’m not complaining – they’re GOOOOOD.

I guess what makes Kristin cool is that she has a fairly open mind.  I say “fairly” because it wasn’t open to food to begin with.  She’s picky enough when it comes to normal food like tomatoes and potatoes, let alone Chinese food.  Let’s just say that early in our relationship, many a trip to Chinese (authentic) restaurants didn’t leave her stomach very satisfied.  Nowadays, she actually knows what she likes, tries stuff I tell her she won’t like, and is a Chinese restaurant superstar in my book.  I used to get so nervous wondering if she actually liked what she was eating.  I still joke with her because of her family, she’s the most picky eater but she still regularly eats and samples stuff the rest of them wouldn’t touch.  Great, now I’m hankering for some authentic Chinese food . . .

Oh, and the title is what Jason calls them.

Ironically, neither of the kids really care for them but they love rice with Kristin’s own “Not a Ho’s” sauce (patterned after Noho’s Teriyaki sauce from Medford).  Yes, my wife actually MAKES our own Teriyaki sauce.  See, I told you she was cool.

8 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Potsicle Stickers?”

  1. Mickie December 3, 2009 at 12:05 pm #

    OKay I like those potstickers too and I believe last time we were there when she made them Matt ate ohh 6 or so? OH and I make my own not a ho sauce too! Well because Kristin found me the recipe. Okay so she is pretty dang cool.

  2. kay December 3, 2009 at 1:39 pm #

    Yep, one of my favorite people in the whole wide world!! And a great cook/baker since she was a little girl!

  3. Kristin December 3, 2009 at 1:41 pm #

    What is that a picture of? And thank you for the compliment 😉

  4. waywu2001 December 3, 2009 at 1:49 pm #

    It’s an ice cave – super cool!

  5. waywu2001 December 3, 2009 at 1:49 pm #

    For a day, you can be Freakishly Kool!

  6. hgundred December 3, 2009 at 3:01 pm #

    Very cool…she is cool. 🙂 I haven’t had the potstickers…yum! 😉

  7. Tracie December 3, 2009 at 4:50 pm #

    You could have put a picture of a cucumber too. I’ll have to find out the brand of potsicle stickers although I’m too lazy to drive to the nearest Asian Store.

  8. Jensa December 4, 2009 at 3:51 am #

    She makes her own Teriyaki saice? Wow! I am bowing in her general direction. You chose wisely Will. 🙂

Leave a Reply

