Will’s Entry: How I’d do it

22 Jan

Sorry, Kristin but this one’s going to be a Sports entry.  Now, I know that most of my audience is comprised of college sports fans but I hope this will still be relevent. 

Most Pro Sports involve a draft and it’s customary to give the weaker teams the best picks.  This is usually done by judging the team based on their win-loss record.  Unfortunately this leads to “tanking”, where teams intentionally lose so that they can get a good pick.  In my opinion this hurts the integrity of the game when teams try to lose on purpose so I have come up with my own solution.

Instead of draft position being wholly dependent on win-loss record, I would balance it with a vote taken at the end of the year.  At the end of the year, each team would rank the league’s team from weakest to strongest.  One can cheat or take advantage of the win-loss system through injuries or playing young players to ensure losses, but there is little way to cheat the experts of other teams.  If anything, I imagine that teams would use this system to punish other teams who cheat their fans and “tank”.  Any team expert would really want the weakest team to get the best player and would have to be objective.

Now I realize that there are holes in this system but for brevity, I’ll leave this post as is.  If you have arguments to make, leave them in the comments and I’m sure that I’ve already addressed them in my head . . .

4 Responses to “Will’s Entry: How I’d do it”

  1. Mickie January 22, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    HAHAHAHA You’ve all ready addressed them in your head, Classic Will.

    Too be honest I had no idea teams intentionally lost to get a better pick.

    Matt Ty and I are headed to the Jazz game tomorrow night vs. the Nets… yeah if there is a team that is “tanking” it’s them. Last time I checked they were 3-27, Yikes.

  2. Kay January 23, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Will, who are you?? But…it is interesting to me that every time you post a spot like this I totally agree and think, “why hasn’t anyone else thought of this?” Maybe you new nick name should be Mr. Think-tank?

  3. hgundred January 25, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    I like Kay’s nickname for you! 🙂

  4. Troy January 25, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    Check out an interesting discussion between Bill Simmons and Malcolm Gladwell on this subject. They had some interesting thoughts especially as it relates to the NBA draft, which more than any other sport change totally change the outlook for an individual team.

Leave a Reply

