Will’s Entry: Success?

3 Feb

About a month and a half ago, our kids started fighting . . . over sippy cups.  For some reason the RED ones became the coveted color.  (Man, I cannot believe that I could not find a picture of our actual sippy cups.  I am amused that red is the featured color in this picture though.)

Well, since I’m usually the one that gives them sippy cups when they wake up and before they go to bed, I had to do something. 

  • I tried mixing them the 2 colours behind my back before distribution but that led to 2 cultish children chanting during the process and a very unhappy child without red and it’s no fun starting or ending the day with a meltdown.
  • I tried giving them both red but that led to sippy cup confusion and a lot of unnecessary taunting back and forth.  Geez kids, you BOTH got red!
  • (I wanted to mix sippy cups so that some would have red tops and some would have red bottoms but that would have led to an unhappy wife.)

Anyway, it took awhile but my final solution seems to have worked.  Basically if they asked for a color (I’m thinking I may have to amend this to just “talking about”), the other child would get to choose.  This seems to have worked because Jason was always the quickest on the “draw”.  He’d say, “I waa-aant Red” (you have to sing it like a little kid) and I’d respond with “If you ask for a color, Sierra gets to pick”.  After a couple weeks with a grumpy-faced kid, he figured it out and there was peace.  Then the little stinker used his sly little brain and he’d say, “Look Sierra . . .  Red!”  She’d start singing, “I waa-aant Red” and I’d respond with “If you ask for a color, Jason gets to pick”.  Well, the last couple times she’s figured it out too and won’t sing no matter what Jason says.  Ahhh, it’s peaceful and I just mix the 2 colors up and since there’s no chanting to drive up demand, they’re content with whatever they get.  Score 1 for Dad!  (So I Googled “face relief” and this is what it came up with and it’s what I’m going with!)

7 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Success?”

  1. Mickie February 3, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    Nice… I didnt know it had gotten to that. I knew of the mixing behind the back.. Jason is sly isnt he. Glad there is no more conflict of the Red cup!

  2. Kristin February 3, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Nice face Will!

  3. kay February 3, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    Nice face??? What?? that guy is actually pretty scary!

  4. hgundred February 3, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    We had a saying in our house, “You get what you get…” Usually Daddy was the one that was good about it too! 🙂

  5. Dan Patton February 4, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    That is a pretty good solution Will, I would have just made the Red Sippy cup Disappear forever, or at least until it did not matter anymore. And by the way, I do like the Face.

  6. Troy February 4, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    For some reason I’m kind of sad that there is no more cultish chanting…

  7. Chrissie February 5, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    Red cup would have gone into Time Out for sure until it didn’t cause such disruption!

    See what face comes up when you google Cultish Chanting!

Leave a Reply

