Will’s Entry: Meaningless

12 Mar

This entry is worthless without video but it’s unlikely that we’ll ever get it.  When we offer Sierra something she likes, she often goes and rattles off a phrase/song.  It’s probably got about 6 or 7 words and even has a melodic highs and lows.  It usually starts with “Do Do!”, but we have NOOOOO idea what she is saying.  (We’ll offer a $20 reward to anyone who translates.)

In other news, our ward made Regionals in Church Ball.  Our team needed people to ref so I accepted when they asked me.  Since I don’t get a kick out of reffing someone asked me why I said yes.  I said “Why pass the buck to someone else who doesn’t want to do it?”.  Anyway, I reffed 2 Young Women games and one for Young Men.  I’ll hand it to the Young Women; their talent isn’t there, but the understanding is better than I expected.  I thought I did a good job with the Young Men’s game.  The few moans about a missed call were cancelled out by the “Good Call, Ref” comments.  I think I scored points by having some adults take half-court shots during a time out.  Next time I’m tempted to take a 100 Grand Chocolate bar so that I can offer a hundred grand . . .  Yes, I’m Will and I’m wierd!

Our big game is tonight.  Wish me and my team good luck!

6 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Meaningless”

  1. hgundred March 12, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    If only you could ref C’s church ball games! One guy is great…the other is questionable. Let me hear that song…I will translate. My boys call me the ‘toddler whisperer” HEE,HEE,HEE! 😀

    • waywu2001 March 12, 2010 at 10:06 am #

      Oh, I’m not a great ref. If anything, I let quite a bit of contact go (probably my background as a pick-up ball player). I will say that I’m consistent for both sides though.

  2. Jacque March 12, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    You could always do what my dad did while reffing a girls basketball game 20 years ago. One parent..who is still in my ward was bad mouthing anything against his daughters team. One right after another…well, my Dad is very even kealed. He walked over to the man, handed him his whistle and went home. HA HA!

  3. kay March 12, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    Dang! A game tonight? I can’t get there on such short notice…Good Luck!

    And as for Sierra…I’ve tried to understand her language. And I’ve come to realize I just don’t speak “Sierra.”

  4. Kristin March 12, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    Still trying to get it on tape. Any time she sees the camera she freezes…

  5. Mickie March 12, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    HAHA yes I always think of “The Emporer’s New Groove” with the chipmunk, we need a “Crunk” to translate for us.

    Oh yeah Matt would TOTALLY go for a half court shooting game during a time out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

