Frustrations of Potty training

22 Mar

I have always heard that girls are easier to potty train then boys. Well I would have to say it depends on the girl. My kids seem to resist potty training. Jason was 3 1/2 and Sierra is still in diapers.

I started out on Friday very hopeful. She knows and she is ready. I happily put her underwear on, give her tons of liquids, and put her on the toilet every 15-20 min. We had a success and then we failed, and failed, and failed. It’s ok I thought to my self. It is just the first day. All kids have a rough first day. Tomorrow will be better.

Ok fresh start Saturday. Same thing fail, fail, fail. Come on Sierra, you can do this. I know you are ready! Then we have a success! But it quickly goes back to the same old fail routine.

By Sunday I am just exhausted of the whole process. Sticking her on the toilet every 15-20 min makes for one very very long day while cleaning up messes every so often. Will took the morning shift and the church shift. By the time I came home, saw no hope she was back in diapers by 2:30 on sunday.

We gave it our best shot. She knows, but refuses to go on the toilet. She is very content in a diaper and no matter what I say will change her mind.  I guess we wait another few months and try it again. I am hoping that she will be potty trained by the time she is 5, lol…

5 Responses to “Frustrations of Potty training”

  1. kay March 22, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    Yep, you’re right, by the time she goes to school, she will be potty trained. I never met a kid yet with normal abilities not potty trained by the time they are 5. Does that give you any consolation now, no. But I promise when she’s ready she’ll do it. Sorry your kids are as stubborn as their …well…you know… : )

  2. hgundred March 22, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    DOn’t stress over it! She’ll eventually get it. I am surprised Gatorhas done so well but he too stil has an accident or two… 😉

  3. Head Nurse March 22, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    If there is one thing I learned after four kids- is that you can’t force potty training. L wasn’t ready until he was three- although I tried several times to introduce it. C- he started way earlier- barely 2- his idea- not mine- but he wasn’t done until he was three- holy cow I thought that I would lose my mind. K- piece of cake- wasn’t going to start her until later because I was bringing a new baby home. Day after we came home from the hospital- she refused diapers and was insta-trained. S- also very easy and was completely trained day and night by two.

  4. Chrissie March 22, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    Send her for a day with Gator’s potty success & REWARDS and Aunt Holly’s enthusaism?!

  5. paige March 24, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    Have you heard of the 3 day potty training method? I actually bought the e-book and was amazed by the success and the personal mentoring turned out to be really helpful, too. I think it was $20 but worth every penny. Instead of scheduling bathroom time (every 20 min.), you wait for the accident and then rush to the toilet. You have to devote 100% attention to the trainee for the 3 days which is hard with another kid in the house, but I’m telling you it can work if you give it full effort. Mason is SUPER stubborn, too, especially with poop, and he did it. We even took a trip a couple weeks later and he went on the plane! If you are really ready and can give it a full 3 days with NO DIAPER crutch, you guys can do it. Check it out. http://www.3daypottytraining.com/ I sound like an advertisement, but I am a believer. And it was really rough the first 2 days. But what’s 2 days in the grand scheme? Don’t give up:) Let me know if you want more info.

Leave a Reply

