Garage door

14 May

It all started off a few days ago. It was night-time and all of a sudden Will and I head this loud pop coming from the garage. We search and searched and couldn’t find what had done it.

That is when the garage door started to have problems. It worked but not very well. Finally Will was headed out to basketball and it would not open at all. Great. They next day I opened the motor up and saw that there was a stripped gear. Fine fine.

We went over to Home Depot and bought a new opener (this all tends to happen at night). Can I say yuck to the price. It was more than I would have liked to pay…

All is well. Then next morning (yesterday) I get out to the garage and start reading the manual on how to install this silly thing. I am a little intimidated, but think I can do this! I come to find out that the tension spring that holds the door in place busted. I can not fix that 😦 So the spring broke, which caused too much weight for the motor, which stripped the gear…

So I called around and got a guy out yesterday. Low and behold since he was out fixing the tension spring he could install the new motor for 50 buck. I think it was a no brainer. That project would have taken me 1/2 to a whole day to finish. He got everything done in less than 2 hours! So now we are the proud owners of a new garage door opener and tension spring. What a lot of money for a modern convenience that I could not like to live with out 🙂

3 Responses to “Garage door”

  1. hgundred May 14, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    YAY! I am glad everything worked out! It stinks when you can get out of the house. Glad you will not be going stir crazy on this beautiful weekend coming up! 🙂

  2. Mickie May 14, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    Yes! Glad it’s fixed… now take the kids out somewhere to get those crazies out…

  3. Kay May 14, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    It’s crazy how attached we get to those little conveniences! I could never live with out a trash compactor again!

    Glad it’s all fixed now!

Leave a Reply

