Maternity Clothes

18 May

Sunday Will and I brought out the box of maternity clothes and washed them. I finally gave in and started to wear them yesterday. I have been having conflicting emotions as I have been wearing them. Here are my feelings right now…

Pro’s:

  • They fit so much better
  • I actually look pregnant now and not just gaining weight
  • The elastic waist band makes peeing much faster. Lets face it you have to pee a lot when you are pregnant.
  • The pants don’t cut into my waist
  • I tend not to gain a lot of weight while pregnant. I just gain a belly. My legs and butt stay pretty much the same (bad for maternity pants)
  • I only have to wear these clothes for 7 more months and then never again!

Con’s:

  • I feel like a blimp
  • I have worn the same shirts through all the pregnancies. They are starting to get pretty repetitive.
  • You don’t feel attractive in maternity clothes.
  • It is tough to find pants that fit correctly. No one makes small enough jeans for me unless it is Gap and lets face it I am too cheap to buy a $70 pair of jeans.
  • The shirts are all tents
4 Responses to “Maternity Clothes”

  1. hgundred May 18, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    I bet I have some clothes you can wear…maybe you should come shopping in my closet. I mean, let’s be honest…my ‘normal’ is your BIG! 😉

  2. Kay May 18, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    I know what you’re saying, Kristin, I really do. But I can’t help remember back to wearing my robe and two Arab dresses grandpa bought for me the last two months of pregnancy, because NOTHING else fit over my enormous body.

    AND….I thought it was only 5ish months?

  3. Kristin May 18, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    5 months left of being pregnant and then 1-2 months after I am still wearing the maternity pants…

  4. Chrissie May 18, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    LOL! I’m not laughing at you, but the peeing comment sure rang a bell and made me smile…. I just had a flashback to when Indy, when I was going thru the exact same process you are right now with my maternity clothes, saw a green and white striped top and exclaimed, “THAT’S the top you were wearing when you went to the hospital and Gib was born!!!”….. a sure sign you need to do more than just recycle over and over again I’m thinking! (she was right too).

Leave a Reply

