Will’s Entry: And the Winner is . . .

27 May

Disclaimer:  This was a joke.  This was a joke. This was a joke. This was a joke. This was a joke. This was a joke. This was a joke. Well, this was kind of a joke.

About two weeks ago, Kristin and I had a conversation during lunch that went like this:

Kristin:  I didn’t do “blah blah blah”, but I did “blah”.  (Recalled in true husband fashion, eh?

Will:  Well, that’s worth something.

Well the nerdy side of me went back to work and created a table with about a dozen items that Kristin usually does (or can do) with accompanying point values.  It was a joke but she started giving me stuff that should be included.  Eventually we included her mom and her sister who’s also a mom and after about 20 emails with suggestions and revisions, I’ve decided that this is blog worthy.  Heck, she references it almost everyday so it might as well be published.  So I hope everyone’s amused with this.  I should make an app for this . . .

Kids Dressed 1.5 Points  * (not per kid)
Kids Bathed 1.5 Points  *
Read for 1/2 hr 1  
Read for hr 3  
Games for 1/2 hr 1  
Games for hr 3  ** Can be combined with Reading for Bonus.
Updates with Family-related news 1  
Kids Activity (Coloring, play-doh, etc.) 3  
Yard Work 5  
Laundry in Dryer 1.5 (No Credit for just the Washer)
Kristin Dressed 3.5 *
Makeup 1 *
Walk around block 4.5  
House Tidied 2 (1/2 Credit if company is coming)
House Cleaned 3 (see above)
A “Project” or something out of the ordinary 4  
Cub Scout Stuff 2  
Prep for Incoming Family (bedding, bath, etc.) 2  
Cleanup for Outgoing Family 2-3  
Prep for Dinner 2  
Kids Play outside 3  
Exercise 5  
Library Trip 2.5  
Laundry Folded 2  (1/4 Credit if just towels/blankets!)

* Only valid before noon.

12 Responses to “Will’s Entry: And the Winner is . . .”

  1. Kristin May 27, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    Yesterday I scored a 1. Give me a break I was sick.

    • waywu2001 May 27, 2010 at 8:19 am #

      Yesterday I was perfectly happy that the kids were happy.

  2. Mickie May 27, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    I think I have 4 points so far and I have no excuses… I need to get on it! 🙂

    You forgot to include the scale! I’m going for “you go girl” today…

  3. Kay May 27, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    Oh, yes the scale is very important, even though I tend never to get above pitiful day, since you won’t give me all my exercise points!

  4. hgundred May 27, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    K, I like this chart but some things need to be changed to fit the time in your life. However, I TOTALLY get it! I’m thinking I would have a blast with this chart! I do well when I can see what I have achieved or say what I have done…then I feel the day has been worth while. 😉

  5. tracie May 27, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    So, how come Mickie and Kay don’t get points for getting dressed (before noon)? I think they’re being gypped. 🙂 Otherwise, it’s a pretty good chart. I want to see the scale.

  6. Jensa May 27, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    Oh…my…goodness! This cracks me up! You DO need to make an app for this! And I love that getting dressed is only valid before noon. 🙂

  7. Jensa May 27, 2010 at 10:37 pm #

    …and about playing games for an hour…are we talking mommy games? I play Farkle on Facebook all the time and I would totally rack up the points!

    • waywu2001 May 28, 2010 at 7:47 am #

      You’re right, it should read as Playing with (not just around) Kids.

  8. Bobbie May 29, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    I love this… 🙂

  9. Chrissie June 1, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    Classic. However, I want full points for folding towels and EXTRA points for putting away all the dang laundry. That’s the worst part of the job!

  10. Troy June 3, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    I’m assuming you’ve already converted this to an excel spreadsheet? Do you track and graph historical values? Can you tell that I get more excited about using the data, regardless of its source?!

Leave a Reply

