Will’s Entry: My Superpower?

2 Jun

I got punched yesterday.  First time for everything and it was at basketball.  I’ll admit that I’m quite the irritant on defense and I subscribe to Rajon Rondo’s style of defense of sneaking up and stealing the ball and getting rebounds that I have no business getting (it’s always a good day when I hear a few “Freakin’ Will!!!”) but I didn’t deserve this.  Why?  Because I WASN’T PLAYING!!!!!

One of the guys playing last night (who’s pretty good) tried driving a couple times and was met at the rim and had his shot swatted with impressive blocks.  Well, the second time he got upset and did an air-punch in the direction of the stage/curtain.  Well, I was sitting right there and received the blow as he glanced it off my arm.  Lucky me . . . now, how could he not see me?

I’ll admit, I was ticked for a few moments and wished that I was bigger so I could have yelled at him or something (he didn’t even apologize!) but the rage passed and I we played on the same team 2 games later.  I  don’t hold grudges but was glad when he lost that particular game.  My arm’s still tender . . .

4 Responses to “Will’s Entry: My Superpower?”

  1. Chrissie June 2, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    Well, he certainly isn’t a good sport….

  2. Kay June 2, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    Agreed, let’s have a lesson in good Sportsmanship next Tuesday evening! I’m prepared to teach it, just let me know the time and place! Wonder if I would get punched, maybe?

    I still think it’s funny when players, men and women, get so upset, when playing insignificant games of sport. Don’t get me wrong, I’m competitive, but certainly not to the point of even punching what I think is air…:)

  3. hgundred June 3, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    I don’t deal with hot heads very well. I am a firm believer in playing hard and having fun, but when it gets violent…I’m done. Hope your arm feels better.

  4. steve June 6, 2010 at 6:40 am #

    I/We got your back Will. Let’s go get him. You first Matt.

Leave a Reply

