How we met

20 Jul

 Yesterday was mine and Will’s seventh year anniversary. Time has flown by pretty quick. I figured I will write down how we meet just for the sake of writing it down.

(Will’s added some comments in blue)

I was hired to work at subway in the Cougar Eat during my sophomore year of college. It was a nice change from the early morning custodial shift I had at the Bean Museum the year before. Let me tell you 4:30 am came pretty early when your roommates stayed up until 2 am.

I had already been working at Subway in Medford (so I didn’t really need any training), but I had to be trained at the Cougar Eat. I guess the best time they think to train you is during education week. The food court gets slammed during that week. It is crazy how many people want food all at the  exact same time. The Cougar Eat Subway gets an official award for the busiest Subway in the world for the whole week.

They put me on-line with another girl (Emily) who had been working at subway for a very long time. We were a pretty quick team. And lo and behold who was our trainer/cashier? Will. Now why he was our trainer I am still baffled. He could not make a sandwich to save his life. We didn’t talk too much because it was so busy, but I do remember going home that first day and telling my Uncle Art that I worked with a cute guy.

For the next week we all worked together until the rush of education week was over.  (Did we really work together for a whole week?)   After the fact, I found out that Will was more interested in watching Emily work then me.  (Hey that’s not true.  She was just more talkative with a gnarly southern accent – had nothing to do with “watching”.  That sounds creepy)  How sad. We all received our schedules for the upcoming semester and off we went on our separate ways.  (I was also breaking off the pursuit of another girl at the time and was not looking for another.)

I was the baker at Subway. The first week I was hoping that Will would show up, but he never did. A month passed and I had given up all hopes of him being on my shift at work. One day in October I came to work and found that he was our permanent cashier.

The first time he saw me he didn’t even remember my name. How crushing is that? If you truly made an impression on someone you expect them to know your name. For the next week he called me baker, until he could figure out what my real name was.  (Note to other girls:  If a guy “nicknames” you, he likes you.  Maybe not like-like, but don’t take it as an insult)

For the next few weeks we talked, asked each other questions, and flirted. I am sure the people in the meat/veggie line were pretty tired of hearing us talk. It was a Thursday and he finally got the nerve to ask me out. And when does he ask me out? For the following Wednesday night. Are you serious? You are asking me out a week in advance to go bowling? I of course said sure and then promptly asked if he wanted to go out on Friday as well.

The next day hits and I get ready for our date. He told me that he would call me. 4 pm, 5 pm, 6pm rolls around and still no call. Finally I called him and he was out (much later I found out that he was at another group of girls apartment)(Pretty sure I was hiding). We did get in contact with each other. We walked the mall smelling perfumes/colognes (that must have been his idea because I didn’t and still don’t wear perfume) (we had like an hour to kill), went to see Sweet Home Alabama, and after ate at Dennies (really?).

Probably 2-3 weeks into dating Will I tried to break it off. I told him I just wanted to be friends, but he was persistent. And the rest is history…

6 Responses to “How we met”

  1. Kay July 20, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    Ahhh…and they lived happily ever after!!! But my favorite part is the little Jason guy and C-ra bug that came after too. Ooopps for got whats her face too! I’m sure she’ll be a favorite too, like cherry and grape, both favorites! Okay, I’ll stop typing now…..

  2. Melissa Spence July 20, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    But the real question is – do you both still like Subway sandwiches!? 🙂

  3. Mickie July 20, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    HAHA Man I should write down how Matt and I met andhave him write in blue too… I wonder hwo he would say it happened.

    I didnt even know a lot of that… good stuff.

  4. hgundred July 20, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    LOVE IT! I wish I could have Uncle Eric *insert* too about our story…Happy Anniversary you two! 😉

  5. Indy July 26, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    Will’s inserts are GREAT! My favorite is the “really?” after the Denny’s… LOL

  6. iphone android news October 24, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    Thankfully some bloggers can still write. Thanks for this blog…

Leave a Reply

