Will’s Entry: I am Speed

29 Jul

I think my dad’s a great guy (no, this is not Jason’s entry).  Growing up I always thought he was big, fast, and better at tennis than me and that’s all it really took to have my respect.  Nowadays I admire the fact that he has aged remarkably well and is still probably in better shape than I am due to regular exercise.  He’s also well-spoken and a generally nice guy.

I remember the day that my dad was taken off the pedestal.  Not to embarass him, but it was the day that we put up the basketball hoop in the front yard.  He took a shot and I remember thinking “Dad’s not good at everything?”  (Notice the question . . .)  I wonder if Jason will have a moment like that when he’s older.  He’ll probably notice that all of his uncles are faster than his dad someday, sigh . . .

This gets to the point of the entry.  My dad’s a good driver and one that I try to emulate.  Gets from point A to B in a timely, safe, efficient manner.  When I was younger, I thought he was the fastest driver on the road.  Why, you might ask.  Well, I’d sit in my seat and count the number of cars we passed and deduct the number of cars that passed us.  It was always a positive number so I’d conclude that we were one of the fastest cars on the road.  Well, I shattered this fantasy a few weeks ago.  I realized that my conclusion was faulty due to my seat location.  My assigned seat in the back seat on the passenger side meant that I was privy to a great view of the Slow lane!  Course I thought Dad was fast.  I wonder if Tracie thought he was slow . . .

6 Responses to “Will’s Entry: I am Speed”

  1. Tracie July 29, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    No, I never paid attention to whether or not cars were passing us. I just liked to look insde the car and see what the interior looked like.

  2. Kay July 29, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    That entry was priceless! I have to tell you my thoughts ran the gambit of emotion too, from ahhh to ohhh to hummm and then hahaha! When you can get your reader to feel all those feelings in three short paragraphs, that means your post was well written!

    Okay, did that make sense to anyone else? It did in my head! LOL!

    • waywu2001 July 29, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

      Thanks! I try to make each entry somewhat memorable in some way. Hopefully you’ll never see both sides of the back seat as equal again.

  3. hgundred July 29, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    LOL! I loved this entry Will! 🙂 Every boy needs to have their Dad on that pedastal. I’m pretty positive E’s still on his…the best part…C has one too in T’s eyes…LOVE IT! 🙂

  4. Jensa July 29, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    One can only assume that Tracie came to that conclusion if she was indeed using the same formula as you. Most likely, however, she was thinking about the Backstreet Boys or something. 🙂

  5. joanna July 31, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    In my humble opinion, I think you are just as well-spoken and well-written as your Dad. You are unique and special in your own way. Your children will come to appreciate you being a fun and creative Dad to them.
    The entry was priceless.

Leave a Reply

