Will’s Entry: Naming

9 Sep

Our 7 year old computer monitor has been on the fritz so I’ve taken it upon myself to write an entry today.  The topic – Names

This is for posterity’s sake, so I thought I’d also include Kristin and my name as well.  Wildon Wai Wu – Not much story there.  My parents presumably found the name in a Name book.  It’s so uncommon that I sometimes look at Name books just to see if my name is there.  I’d say 90% of the time, it isn’t.  I’ve never met another Wildon but I did see his name in a random cubicle at BYU as the parent of a guy that was getting married.  Instant connection!  As for the Wai, I think my parents just thought to match it with my Chinese name.  Interesting to me though, in Cantonese my name is pronounced “Wy” and in Mandarin it’s “Way” which is kind of cool since my spelling could be pronounced both ways.

I don’t know much about Kristin’s name.  Think it was the name of a girl who babysitted.  That’s pretty bad that I don’t know.  Probably even worse that I have NO clue where Leanne came from.

I have a friend from high school who gave her theory on naming her kids.  She had a very common name so she gave her kids unique ones.  She probably didn’t want them going by ______-last name for their entire lives.  I can understand that but went with the exact opposite strategy when it came to my kids’ names.  Especially for a boy, if you’re going to be as little as I was, a unique name is just another obstacle to climb.  Let’s just hope his eyesight and teeth end up better than mine . . .

So Jason’s name wasn’t planned or anything.  (Funny thing since Kristin’s sisters have a whole gaggle of names pre-planned)  We went through about 6 months where I’d throw out names and then get them vetoed (like Wesley and Luke).  Eventually I thought of Jason (had a couple good friends growing up with that name) and she said she didn’t hate it which I took as my cue to stop thinking.  I figured it’d win by default if nothing else was proposed and it did.  As for Hayden, Kristin found that in a Name book and we both sounded good with his first name.

When it comes to Sierra, we were actually having a little fun when Kristin’s brother was coming up with a name for their daughter.  I think they considered Dakota and I laughed thinking “That’s the name of a truck.  Are they considering Tacoma?  What about Tundra?  Yikes.  How about Sierra?  Wait a second here . . .”  Well we liked it and it stuck.  Hallie had another H for a middle name and it just seemed to fit.

As for the name of our unborn child, you’ll just have to wait. 

Until tomorrow’s entry that is.

3 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Naming”

  1. Kay September 9, 2010 at 8:24 am #

    There was a little girl named Kristin Peterson in my ward growing up. I taught her as a Sunbeam. I just adored her sweet, vivacious personality!

    Leanne is actually Sharon’s middle name, but I liked it with the “e” spelling.

    If I had my wish, Kristin’s name would have been Holly Leanne, but Harvey said no-go. But he still loves you Holly!

  2. hgundred September 9, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    LOL! Never knew that, but I think Kristin fits! 😉
    Will, My name was given to me by my brother Art. They thought I was a boy and apparently my mother had some horrible name picked out. From what I was told Art suggested, Holly. It fits… 🙂
    As to my boys, Connor Brooks (first name on Eric andI liked-middle his paternal great grandmother’s last name). Tyler Roberts (first name was originally going to be Chandler or Skyler, but Eric said how about Tyler so we can call him Ty for short? It stuck. Roberts his maternal great grandmother’s last name). Why ruin tradition? Only wish we had another to name, but alas…it wasn’t in the cards for us. XOXO

  3. Tracie September 9, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    Did you know mom and dad wanted to name me Jessica?!?!?! So glad that they didn’t although there were times growing up I wish they had spelled my name with a y or an i. In the end, i’m glad my name is the way it is.
    Troy, I have no clue how he got his name. His middle initial comes from his dad’s side.
    Brooke was one of 2 names that we/I liked. We put them together with family middle names and Brooke MacKenzie sounded the best.

Leave a Reply

