She’s here!

22 Sep

It took a while for me to get over the shock of being told to go deliver, but I am glad that it is over and done with. Things went slow, but smoothly. Elena Zoey Wu came at 9:15pm. She is a heavy weight of 4 lbs 14 oz and an amazing hight of 17 inches. She is tiny. Jason was almost a whole pound heavier than she was. We are calling it quits at her. The kids I have keep getting smaller and smaller. 5 lb 11 oz down to 5 lbs 9 oz and now 4 lbs 14 oz. I am afraid that if we have another one it would be tiny.

As you probably know I am not one for an epidural. It is not that I am against it, I am just against the needles that they have to use. Yes delivery is more on the painful side for me, but my thought is that the pain is not going to last forever.

I don’t know if it was a good thing or a bad thing, but my contractions were very slow, every 3-5 min. I was able to relax in between. It probably made the whole delivery thing last longer, but I was able to relax and get ready for the next contraction.

I stayed at a 3  for what seamed like forever. The nurse suggested that I tried taking a bath and I decided to go for it. It was pretty nice. Plus once I was able to relax a little bit things really started to progress. I stayed in the tub for about an hour and started to feel like the contractions were working. I told the nurse this and she had me get out.

She checked me and I was at a 5. I had 3 more contractions and I had her check me again (she probably tought I was crazy)… I was at a 7. Thank goodness Dr. Lind was already on his way. He came in the room to talk to me for a second… I started to grunt and he was off running to change. Just like Sierra he had just enough time to put on the gloves by the time she was part way out. I don’t think I even got to 10 cm before the whole thing happened. I pushed 3 times and bam she was here.  I am glad that the really painful contractions only lasted for less than 30 min.

I am happy to say I have no stitches and am up and walking around pretty well. In fact last night when they transferred me into a different room I was standing and walking around when the nurse came in. She wasn’t to happy with me and told me that I was breaking the rules. I had to urinate first in front of them to show them that I could do it on my own. Oh brother.

Elena is doing well. She has passed all of her tests so far and is eating pretty well. She is about ready to take the dreaded car seat test. Jason failed the first time he took it. Sure hope she passes…

7 Responses to “She’s here!”

  1. Michaela September 22, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    Congratulations! Can’t wait to see pictures of little Elena! And glad to hear your doing so well so fast Kristin!

  2. Tracie Ware September 22, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    Where are the pics??? You can’t leave us hanging. 🙂

  3. hgundred September 22, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    YEEWHO! I can’t wait to snuggle her! I am soo glad everything went smoothly. 🙂

  4. Jensa September 22, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    So happy things seemed to have gone smoothly and everyone is recovering! Sounds like our labors were quite similar – yeah for quick ones! 🙂 Relax and enjoy!

  5. Melissa Spence September 22, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Congratulations, what a great birth story! Have doctors beeen able to determine why your babies are born with low birth weights? I’m glad to hear she is healthy, passed all her tests and is feeding well. Enjoy your family of 5 at home…and post some pics when you can!

  6. Kelly September 22, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    Wow! Weird. You would think if she was small they would want her to cook a little longer. Get a little bigger, you know? Guess I don’t understand how that goes. I am measuring 3 weeks behind, and haven’t put on weight in 2 months but there is no talk of delivering early. I wish! So done! Glad to hear she is doing good. Look forward to pictures.

  7. Chrissie September 27, 2010 at 5:13 am #

    Congratulations! It took me awhile to get to the blog but I’m glad I did! It was fun to read how Elena arrived 🙂 I am sure that for your kids, if they fail the car seat test, it will be the ONLY test they ever fail! Can’t wait to hear all about how EZ shakes things up at home!

Leave a Reply

