?’s Entry: Say my name, Say my name

23 Nov

I’ve been wanting to write this post for a while now, but it was intimidating so we’ll see how it goes.

My name is Wildon Wai Wu and I had quite the love/hate relationship with it growing up.  My parents found it in a name book but I say that existence in a name book does not make a name because I’ve never met anyone else with the same name.  However, many others have named me through the years.  This post is going to document all the nicknames that I have had/endured through the years.

  • Willy or Willy Wonka (a favorite of Ray, my cousin)
  • Waldo
  • Will-debeest (there was a song that accompanied this one, but I won’t go into it)
  • Way-wu
  • W-W-W DOT com
  • El Gato Voladore (I think it means flying cat, I think-it was my basketball nickname for some reason)  I hear “Freakin’ Will” on the court a lot too and that means I’ve had a good day because I’ve stolen the ball from you . . . again
  • “Where there’s a Will, there’s a ‘Wai’ Wu” (yes, people took the time to say all of that)
  • Wu-man
  • W-squared which is usually corrected to W-cubed
  • Will-doh (and the dirty word that rhymed with it that I didn’t realize until much later in life)
  • “How do you like your steak “Wildon” (well-done)”  (Boy, some of these were long)
  • Wendell (dumb PE teacher)
  • Trey-Dub
  • World Wide Web
  • Tri-Dub
  • The Flying Chineseman

Boy, I was sure there would be more, but that’s all that I can think of right now.  When I got to college, responses to “My name’s Wildon” usually where met with “Huh?”, so I became Will.  Why I never went by that before, I’ll never know but it’s kind of fun to have such a clear demarcation in my life.  People before college (and family) usually call me Wildon and I actually enjoy it now.  To people afterwards, I’m just Will.  And Will Wai Wu actually has a nice ring to it.  In fact, on my first resume, I titled the top “Will   W   Wu” and thought, “That looks real good.”  In fact, months after I was hired, I found out that my boss looked at the name and had “a good feeling” about it.

Now if you thought this was the entry, not quite.  My Chinese name is pronounced Wy-dik. 

  • Chinese nickname:  Dik-dik  (I remember the time I realized how embarassing it was in public and refused to answer to it.  It was at Mervyns)
  • Even better:  They thought it nice to add a Gum on the end, so it became Dik-dik-gum.

It’s good that I love my name now because I’ve had quite the life with it.

5 Responses to “?’s Entry: Say my name, Say my name”

  1. Tracie Ware November 23, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    I believe there was also a Wilt-in (from Natasha ?) I’ll see if I can remember any more. Good post.

  2. Melissa Spence November 23, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

    Huh interesting, I had no idea your name was Wildon Wai Wu. I’ve never met anyone named Wildon. I do have some family members with the names Wilhelm and Wilhelmina, Dutch names. And their names got shortened too.

    So where did The Flying Chineseman come from?

    • waywu2001 November 24, 2010 at 8:50 am #

      The Bragg family actually dubbed me that when they realized that this skinny Chinese guy could actually jump!

  3. Jenn November 24, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    Whoa, whoa, whoa. Let’s not forget my favorite nickname from high school, which I think originated in Mrs. Rossy’s French class, of all places.

    You just can’t beat Pimp Daddy Wu.

    • waywu2001 November 24, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

      No surprise, but you’re right as always Jenn. It was fun being greeted with that title whenever I arrived in French class.

Leave a Reply

